Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Problems
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 23rd, 2013, 09:03 AM
matzii matzii is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 138
Default want a widget to display all subcategories of a specified parent category

Like this site: hotelli.se
at the left there is only swedish cities
and at the left only hotels from Vrlden

here is the testsite im working on hotellkedjor.se
(before i shall remake hotelli.se)
  #2  
Old November 23rd, 2013, 09:27 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

Go here: The Factory > Your Store > VIEWS > WIDGETS > Categories > Category list module > Settings ()

Under Display mode choose "Only child categories".

Eric
  #3  
Old November 23rd, 2013, 10:25 AM
matzii matzii is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 138
Default

But Then it Will display the aktive category

I would like it to alwasys display the same child under a specified parent!
Like a menu
  #4  
Old November 23rd, 2013, 11:16 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

OK. Then you need to do this:

1. Go here: The Factory > Your Store > VIEWS > WIDGETS

2. Click the "Add a new view" link under the WIDGETS menu

3. Name the view whatever you want.

4. Add a text module to the view.

5. In the text module add the following code: [DFR:widget/Categories?c=123456]

6. Replace 123456 with the ID of the parent category.

7. Save

8. Click the [Update Settings Only] button on your site.

9. Go here: WordPress Admin Area > Appearance > Widgets and add a Generic Datafeedr widget to your sidebar and select your new view from the drop down menu.

Eric

Eric
  #5  
Old November 23rd, 2013, 11:33 AM
matzii matzii is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 138
Default

Will this display the child under the parent 12345 category as i want?

Is it possible to make two widgets and use are the same time with different parent category in each?
  #6  
Old November 23rd, 2013, 11:57 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

Yes and Yes.

Eric
  #7  
Old November 23rd, 2013, 01:09 PM
matzii matzii is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 138
Default

i have done it but the both parent category are displayed in both widgetens

(i have the parentcategory in the title so i dont need it to bee displayed )

here:http://hotellkedjor.se/
  #8  
Old November 23rd, 2013, 02:37 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

You still need to do this: /show...5826#post45826

Eric
  #9  
Old November 23rd, 2013, 07:56 PM
matzii matzii is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 138
Default

Yes i thought so Also but there are not that option in the textmodule.
  #10  
Old November 23rd, 2013, 09:00 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matzii View Post
Yes i thought so Also but there are not that option in the textmodule.
The Categories view doesn't have a Text module, it has a Category List module.

You need to make that change here:
The Factory > Your Store > VIEWS > WIDGETS > Categories > Category list module > Settings

Eric
  #11  
Old November 24th, 2013, 03:03 AM
matzii matzii is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 138
Default

But you told me to use a text module:
"4. Add a text module to the view."

Shouldent i change the settings for that module?
  #12  
Old November 24th, 2013, 11:45 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

The Text module refers to the "Categories" view. You have to do both of the instructions I mentioned. You need to do these 2 steps:

/show...5826#post45826
/show...5829#post45829


Eric
  #13  
Old November 24th, 2013, 12:22 PM
matzii matzii is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 138
Default

Great now it functions!!

I wonder if its a hard thing to display the child category in two columns?
are there any solution i can use?


i tried to change to the template 6 in The Factory > Your Store > VIEWS > WIDGETS > Categories > Category list module >

but it will not display in two columns
  #14  
Old November 24th, 2013, 12:27 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

Great, glad you got it working!

Yes, actually it's very difficult to split list items into multiple columns. I have posted a tutorial about doing that here.

However, it does require being very comfortable with PHP and CSS and HTML. Because of the complexity of doing this, we cannot provide support for this. It's very custom and requires a lot of work.

If you're not comfortable with PHP, CSS and HTML, I would suggest avoiding the tutorial.

Eric
  #15  
Old November 24th, 2013, 04:13 PM
matzii matzii is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 138
Default

thanks for the advice!
i tried your solution but it included both parent category and im not able to edit the code.
--------------------------------

I tried a solution at my own to make two columns in in the widget view for the parent category "Sverige":
one text module in the left column that show the category "Sverige a-k" and
one text module in the right column right that show the category "Sverige l-"

but they both show up in the left column. Isnt it possible to make two columns in a widget in this way?

Hotell i Sverige

-Askersund
-Gteborg

-Lund
-Stockholm


instead of this:
Hotell i Sverige

-Askersund -Lund
-Gteborg -Stockholm

Last edited by matzii : November 24th, 2013 at 04:17 PM.
  #16  
Old November 24th, 2013, 04:40 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

But this will require you to add HTML and CSS to your view. Providing custom HTML and CSS code is outside the scope of support we're able to offer.

Eric
  #17  
Old November 24th, 2013, 05:02 PM
matzii matzii is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 138
Default

ok, i understand no problem. I shall try to find a theme that have three sidebars so i can use two of them to solve this problem

thanks for all help this weekend!
  #18  
Old November 24th, 2013, 05:11 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

You're very welcome!
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Category widget display error keithlefty Problems 3 September 3rd, 2012 11:23 AM
Subcategories Widget error shoppalot Problems 3 June 26th, 2012 09:46 PM
Widget subcategories color and format jcvm27 Problems 1 January 8th, 2012 05:52 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.