Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Questions
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 27th, 2013, 06:40 AM
youngy youngy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 494
Default filters not working

HI Eric,
Ive just added 2 filters to my website, price and merchant.

I think ive set it up correctly, but it doesn't seem to be working properly, what have I done wrong?

http://fancydress2u.com/events/halloween-costumes/girls
  #2  
Old August 27th, 2013, 08:31 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

You need to go here: The Factory > Your Store > VIEWS > CATEGORY PAGE > Default > Product list module > Settings () and check the "Allow override" box.

Eric
  #3  
Old August 27th, 2013, 10:43 AM
youngy youngy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 494
Default

HI Eric,
Ok ive done that but both sets of filters dont seem to be working properly?
  #4  
Old August 27th, 2013, 11:09 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

Did you also click the Update Settings button?

Eric
  #5  
Old August 27th, 2013, 11:17 AM
youngy youngy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 494
Default

yes mate, Ive done that twice now but still they dont work
  #6  
Old August 27th, 2013, 12:20 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

The problem is that this page http://fancydress2u.com/events/halloween-costumes/girls is not a store URL.

The filters do work on your store pages:
http://fancydress2u.com/store/catego...s/?price=10-20

Eric
  #7  
Old August 28th, 2013, 03:51 AM
youngy youngy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 494
Default

Hi Eric,
Right ok, Is there a way I can make this work, as I spoke to the adowrds team last week and they said for my website to be seen as something more than just a "bridge" page, I will need price filters in place.

SO this bit is very important to have in place really.

How can I include it so it does work off the wordpress pages and posts?
  #8  
Old August 28th, 2013, 07:00 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

I don't think it's possible for it to work on Posts and Pages. If you are displaying those products via a [shortcode], then it's not possible to pass in URL query strings into that shortcode.

Eric
  #9  
Old August 28th, 2013, 07:19 AM
youngy youngy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 494
Default

Hi Eric,
Thats a s shame If i cant do that on the front end, according to google its something which is quite important to include, otherwise ill just be a bridge website.

Also mate, when im on the store, the price filters seem to work ok, oddily though I can only get the "buy Costumes" work on the merchant filter, why dont the others work?

Dave
  #10  
Old August 28th, 2013, 07:31 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

Regarding Google, you already have included the filters. Those are on all of your store pages. Having 1 page without filters doesn't seem to me what Google means. Did Google say that you need to have filters on every single page which has products?

The reason your merchant filters aren't working is because you need to use the merchant's name, not their URL.

Try this:

HTML Code:
<ul>
	<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='merchant=Anytime Costumes']">Anytime Costumes</a></li>
	<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='merchant=BuyCostumes.com']">Buy Costumes</a></li>
	<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='merchant=Costume Discounters']">Costume Discounters</a></li>
	<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='merchant=Costume SuperCenter']">Costume Super Center</a></li>
	<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='merchant=HalloweenAndCostumes.com']">Halloween and Costumes</a></li>
	<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='merchant=Wholesale Costume Club']">Wholesale Costume Club</a></li>
</ul>
Eric
  #11  
Old August 28th, 2013, 07:34 AM
youngy youngy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 494
Default

Thanks Eric,
WHat im goign to do I think its just have a link/image from the wordpress side ie "CLick to Filter Products and Prices"

SO when your taken to the "store" then you can begin your filterting down.

Thats pretty much teh only ay to do this isnt it?

On that note with the category image, How do I display 2nd and 3rd level?

[category.list before='<ul>' after='</ul>']

[category.if active="self"]
<li class="active">
[category.name]
[category.repeat]
</li>
[/category.if]

[category.if active="child"]
<li>
<a href="[category.link]" title="[category.name]">[category.name]</a>
[category.repeat]
</li>
[/category.if]

[category.if active="parent"]
<li>
<a href="[category.link]" title="[category.name]">[category.name]</a>
</li>
[/category.if]

[category.if active="no"]
<li>
<a href="[category.link]" title="[category.name]">[category.name]</a>
</li>
[/category.if]

[/category.list]
  #12  
Old August 28th, 2013, 07:34 AM
youngy youngy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 494
Default

Pardon my typos above!!
  #13  
Old August 28th, 2013, 07:43 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngy View Post
On that note with the category image, How do I display 2nd and 3rd level?
Do you just need to display all categories of all levels? If so, use this code:

HTML Code:
[category.list before='<ul>' after='</ul>']
<li>
  <a href="[category.link]" title="[category.name]">[category.name]</a>
  [category.repeat]
</li>
[/category.list]
Eric
  #14  
Old August 28th, 2013, 07:52 AM
youngy youngy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 494
Default

Nearly mate!!

I want al levels apart from the "product" level. Other wise side bar gets to long.

SO in other words:

womens - decade - 1920s costumes

SO just the 3 levels , not 4
  #15  
Old August 28th, 2013, 08:00 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

You can set the depth of categories displayed in the category list module's settings. Try setting it to 3.

Eric
  #16  
Old August 28th, 2013, 08:04 AM
youngy youngy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 494
Default

Ahh right got it mate!

Is there away to highlight the 1st and 2nd levels? Ie bold text or bigger text, Even a coloued background behind them?
  #17  
Old August 28th, 2013, 08:14 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

You can change this line:
HTML Code:
<li>
To this:
HTML Code:
<li class="list_depth_<?php echo $depth; ?>">
Then create CSS classes like this:

.list_depth_1 { color:red;}
.list_depth_2 { color:green;}
.list_depth_3 { color:blue;}

You can find more information regarding categories here: http://www.datafeedr.com/docs/item/169

Eric
  #18  
Old August 28th, 2013, 08:22 AM
youngy youngy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 494
Default

Ive added that Eric, but its not working, ive done something wrong. sorry!
  #19  
Old August 28th, 2013, 08:35 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

Try this for the CSS:

Code:
.list_depth_1 a { color:red;}
.list_depth_2 a { color:green;}
.list_depth_3 a { color:blue;}
Eric
  #20  
Old August 28th, 2013, 08:38 AM
youngy youngy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 494
Default

Cracked it mate!! I can play around with them now!

You like the site by the way?

I just hope it is going to be able to rank ok!!
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filters shoespecialists Questions 5 October 15th, 2012 11:43 AM
Better filters wepisto Questions 1 July 27th, 2012 07:27 AM
Some filters not working cunn1974 Problems 2 February 22nd, 2012 04:28 PM
Brand Filters Not Working colorblind Problems 3 October 13th, 2011 01:11 PM
Multiple filters trymv Problems 2 May 6th, 2011 10:42 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.