Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Problems
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 4th, 2012, 12:38 PM
TheFerryman TheFerryman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Default Canonical

I thought I had got rid of canonical problems, but they seem to have returned.
On non-dfr pages, they work fine, but every dfr page has a canonical link to the site home page.
As a result, Bing webmaster tools are telling me
Bing has detected that many Urls are collapsing to a single Url, please try to look into canonical tags in your web page.
I have tried
{

remove_action('wp_head','genesis_canonical');

}
{

remove_action('wp_head','prose_canonical');

}

{
remove_action('wp_head','rel_canonical');
}
but nothing seems to help.
I can't see what is putting in the code in the header.
One of the sites is id 39884 but there are others.
Any suggestions?
Thanks
Bruce
  #2  
Old November 4th, 2012, 12:40 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi Bruce,

What plugins do you have activated?

Eric
  #3  
Old November 4th, 2012, 12:43 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Have you tried this: /show...9447#post19447
  #4  
Old November 4th, 2012, 12:51 PM
TheFerryman TheFerryman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Default

Eric
Yes, I tried the remove options, only difference, I didn't make it conditional on being a dfr page.
No relevant plugins, only
Christmas Countdown Widget
Datafeedr
Genesis Simple Hooks
Genesis Simple Edits
Google xml sitemaps
I can give you access to have a look, if you like.
Thanks
Bruce
  #5  
Old November 4th, 2012, 01:34 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi Bruce,

I think it's best to ask the StudioPress guys how to disable canonical links. Once you know how to do that, then you can add the if conditional to the disable action.

Otherwise I will have to dig through all of the code. They should be able to tell you in a minute exactly how to disable canonical links.

Eric
  #6  
Old November 4th, 2012, 06:38 PM
stefan stefan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,901
Default

This works for me...

Code:
add_action('get_header', 'dfr_remove_canonical_link'); 
function dfr_remove_canonical_link() {
    if ( is_dfr() )
    {
        remove_action( 'wp_head', 'genesis_canonical', 5 );  
    }
}
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rel canonical categories digitalcow Questions 6 July 1st, 2012 12:26 PM
Canonical Issues cashnow Problems 22 May 17th, 2011 12:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.