Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Problems
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 5th, 2011, 07:17 PM
insightprofits insightprofits is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Question Hack to display HTML in custom product descriptions

Hello,

I'd like to use bold/italics, lists, etc. in my custom product descriptions to make them easier to scan/read.

Unfortunately, when I try to use HTML markup in my custom descriptions, the HTML code appears on the product description pages.

What plugin code would I need to change so Datafeeder doesn't convert HTML brackets to < and >, respectively?

Thanks!
  #2  
Old April 5th, 2011, 07:29 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

MOVED THREAD TO CORRECT FORUM.
  #3  
Old April 5th, 2011, 07:29 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

This appears to be a bug.
  #4  
Old April 6th, 2011, 11:04 PM
insightprofits insightprofits is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Default

How would I go about circumventing this issue?

Some of my custom descriptions are long, given the complexity of the products and preselling they require. For now, I'm using asterisks for bullets, etc., but it looks tacky and isn't ideal for readability. Plus, it'd be nice to be able to embed Youtube videos in custom descriptions to help with preselling.

Thanks in advance for your help.
  #5  
Old April 7th, 2011, 08:26 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

There's not really a work around at this time but we are looking into the bug.
  #6  
Old May 17th, 2011, 12:27 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

You can now add HTML to product descriptions in version 3.2.xxxx. You must indicate when you want the HTML to be rendered. Here's the new tag attribute that can be used.

[product.description html='yes']
  #7  
Old September 16th, 2012, 10:24 PM
nzcid nzcid is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric View Post
You can now add HTML to product descriptions in version 3.2.xxxx. You must indicate when you want the HTML to be rendered. Here's the new tag attribute that can be used.

[product.description html='yes']
Hey Eric

One of the main reasons I never used the detail page was the fromatting of the description. However I checked one merchant descriptions in the factory and it appeared they were formatted.

So I used the code above and now they show in some decent form on the site. Just wondering how many other here may be in the same boat as I was.

May that code should be the default - just a thought.
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HTML in Custom Fields mattsway Feature Requests 1 May 17th, 2011 12:31 PM
Custom product info/image display problem feri Questions 2 February 19th, 2011 10:05 AM
Custom Producuct Descriptions nerdyrn1 Questions 1 January 12th, 2011 03:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.