Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Questions
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 12th, 2011, 12:27 PM
TheFerryman TheFerryman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Default User sort

I added a user sort to a view and included an extra selection for random sorting.
When the user chooses random, it sorts alphabetically by product name, but the page defaults to correct random selection.
What have I done wrong?

<div class="dffltrs">
<form method="get">
<span class="dflside">
Products per page:
<?php echo datafeedr_tools()->form_select("ppp",
array(
"30" => "30",
"36" => "36",
"48" => "48",
)); ?>
</span>
<span class="dfrside">
Sort by:
<?php echo datafeedr_tools()->form_select("sort",
array(
"price" => "Price (low to high)",
"-price" => "Price (high to low)",
"name" => "Product Name (a - z)",
"-name" => "Product Name (z - a)",
"random" => "Random",
)); ?>
<input type="submit" value="Go" class="dfsbmt" />
</span>
<div class="clearingdiv">&nbsp;</div>
</form>
</div>
  #2  
Old November 12th, 2011, 03:20 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

I need more information... Please fill in the appropriate information with your new threads and posts.

Eric
  #3  
Old November 12th, 2011, 03:35 PM
TheFerryman TheFerryman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Default

Store id is 34005
I don't want to give the url in the forum, I'll pm it to you if you can't get it from the store id
There were no error messages
Thanks
Bruce
  #4  
Old November 12th, 2011, 03:50 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

When I add ?sort=random to your category URLs and front page URLs, I get random products on every page refresh...

Eric
  #5  
Old November 12th, 2011, 04:24 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Can you try changing the default sort to "Product Name" for that Product list instead of "Random"?
  #6  
Old November 12th, 2011, 04:33 PM
TheFerryman TheFerryman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Default

Done, doesn't seem to help, though.
Could it be that perhaps you can't allow user control on a page which is populated by a custom query string?
Bruce
  #7  
Old November 12th, 2011, 05:20 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

It might be a bug. We're looking into this.

Eric
  #8  
Old November 12th, 2011, 06:26 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

Try using "rand" instead of "random" in the query.

Eric
  #9  
Old November 12th, 2011, 06:33 PM
TheFerryman TheFerryman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Default

Yes, that seems to do it.
Thanks again.
Bruce
  #10  
Old November 16th, 2011, 11:41 AM
TheFerryman TheFerryman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Default

Still having problems. It is not just the random sort, alpha and numerical sorts are strange too, and the pagination is not working properly.

Bruce
  #11  
Old November 16th, 2011, 11:47 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

The sorting is working fine for me but there does appear to be a bug with pagination. We will look into that.

Eric
  #12  
Old November 16th, 2011, 12:23 PM
TheFerryman TheFerryman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Default

The sorting only seems to sort the page in view, not all the items over all pages. Maybe it is related to the pagination problem.
Remember it is a query string, not a standard page.
Bruce
  #13  
Old November 21st, 2011, 12:46 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

This has been fixed in version 3.4. We plan on releasing 3.4 near the end of this month.

Eric
  #14  
Old November 21st, 2011, 01:08 PM
TheFerryman TheFerryman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 266
Default

great, thanks Eric

Bruce
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
User Accounts kaje Feature Requests 6 April 24th, 2012 08:17 AM
New user questions - v3 rexmtn Questions 2 March 2nd, 2011 10:20 PM
New User Here with ??s Kaetemar Questions 2 February 7th, 2011 04:21 PM
How does a user search for products? tannercampbell Questions 2 January 13th, 2011 01:29 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.