Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Questions
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 9th, 2015, 07:28 PM
tiptop tiptop is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 35
Default Display categories as drop down select menu

lowestpricechecker.info

Hi

I have put a categories list on top of the home page content body, but its a simple bullet list
but i want to make it look nicer styled buttons instead. there is no option for that.

the reason for this is that on mobile devices the side widget cat list comes right at the bottom
so not very user friendly.

also the welcome or heading text appears to low on the website with too much space above, want to pull it up.

thanks
  #2  
Old January 10th, 2015, 10:41 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

One idea is to add your categories in a select menu so that your categories appear as a drop down menu.

To add your category list as a dropdown menu, add a new Category list widget to your Store's front page view.

Then add the following code to create the select menu which will automatically load the category page when selected:

HTML Code:
<script type="text/javascript">
	function redirectMe (sel) {
		var url = sel[sel.selectedIndex].value;
		window.location = url;
	}
</script>

<select name="myselect" onchange="redirectMe(this);">
	<option value="#">Select a category</option>
	[category.list before='' after='']
    	<option value="[category.link]">[category.name]</option>
	[/category.list]
</select>
That will add a drop down select menu to your store's front page to save space.

Eric
  #3  
Old January 10th, 2015, 11:55 AM
tiptop tiptop is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 35
Default

Thanks Eric

But i pasted that into store default page on datafeedr the box is showing but nothing in the dropdown.

Howver I would rather have nice button for each of the category list, could perhaps add a category template with nice buttons for the categories instead of just bullet points.

I would like a rectangular button with the categorie inside in a vertical list.

This will also fill the page better.

The main reasonf or doing this is that the usual layout is very bad for mobile phones, because the categorises will come at the bottom of everything else because its a side panel widget.

Or is there any other way you can suggest to make a mobile version of the site.

Thanks
  #4  
Old January 10th, 2015, 11:58 AM
tiptop tiptop is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 35
Default

also sorry forgot please go to www.pricerunner.co.uk from your phone to see what i mean.

thanks
  #5  
Old January 10th, 2015, 04:38 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

I don't see it on your Store's Front Page view. Make sure you add it to a Category list module.

Regarding the 'button' layout, that's much more complicated and beyond the scope of support we're able to provide.

Eric
  #6  
Old January 10th, 2015, 09:22 PM
tiptop tiptop is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 35
Default re

Hi Eric

Really you only need to add another categories template with a the categories names inside rectangular buttons please. instead of just bullet points.

thanks
  #7  
Old January 11th, 2015, 10:32 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

Correct, but you also need to handle all of the CSS styling to go along with it. There are lots of tutorials on the web for handling list items with CSS. However, doing this level of customization work is beyond the scope of support we're able to provide.

Eric
  #8  
Old January 13th, 2015, 08:41 AM
tiptop tiptop is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 35
Default

Hi eric, i have done as you suggested with a drop down menu on home page, which is working ok

thanks
  #9  
Old January 13th, 2015, 08:47 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Great! Thanks for the update!
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drop down menu showing categories cookrac Questions 2 August 7th, 2013 03:47 AM
Drop down menu nzcid Questions 7 March 2nd, 2013 03:35 PM
Drop Down for price categories working together with category drop down meinehandtasche Questions 2 January 18th, 2012 12:13 PM
drop down menu Papada Questions 1 January 4th, 2012 02:24 PM
Drop down categories in Store menu jordand1 Questions 8 September 21st, 2011 01:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.