Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Questions
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 2nd, 2013, 01:32 AM
saurabhporwal saurabhporwal is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Default update products

Store ID: 17ldz60s8badmy7e
Website URL: shop.yellowpost.com.au
URL to page in question: http://shop.yellowpost.com.au/maxum-...digital-black/


I am using shopperpress theme with datafeedr.
When I am updating products, it is updating the products and adding new.
but the products which are deleted from merchants database remain in my website.
This leads to invalid links to the merchant website.

Am I doing someting wrong ? how do the old stale products get deleted ?


Regards,
Saurabh.
  #2  
Old January 2nd, 2013, 06:37 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi Saurabh,

I think this is due to how ShopperPress is updating your products, not Datafeedr.

For example, the watch you linked to above is not in your "Datafeedr" store.
http://shop.yellowpost.com.au/store/...well%20Digital

But other watches are in your Datafeedr store:
http://shop.yellowpost.com.au/store/...Classic%20Mesh

You will need to ask the ShopperPress team how to delete the old products.

Eric
  #3  
Old January 2nd, 2013, 06:13 PM
saurabhporwal saurabhporwal is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Hi Eric,

For someone who is not using shopperpress, how does a normal store update work.
how are the old products deleted ? Do you have to remove all the products first before you start the update, so that the listing is always fresh.


I will ask Shopperpress guys but I believe I read in their forum that you have to delete all products before update all products. That sounds so awful, because by the time the products are updating, the customers on the site may face unpleasant and haphazard behaviour of all products being deleted and then fresh set coming gradually ...



Query 2
--------
How can I switch on the drip feed so that I do not have to always manually click on "update products and settings" everytime. Can it be automated ?


Regards,
Saurabh.
  #4  
Old January 3rd, 2013, 08:54 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi Saurabh,

Here's how a normal Datafeedr product update works:
- You click the [Update Products and Settings] button (or update runs automatically).
- Every search subscription in the Factory is run.
- All products that merchants have available are returned that match your subscriptions.
- On your site, all products are deleted.
- Then all of the new products which were just found in the searches are imported.

So, after an update, no products which are no longer available are removed from your store. And any new products that do match your searches are now in your store.

Updates are, by default, handled automatically every 3 days. You can change that interval here: The Factory > Your Store > Store menu > Basic Store Settings

Eric
  #5  
Old January 3rd, 2013, 04:09 PM
saurabhporwal saurabhporwal is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks Eric. Much appreciated.
  #6  
Old January 3rd, 2013, 04:14 PM
saurabhporwal saurabhporwal is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Default

I have another problem now updating datafeedr to my website.
When the feed is small with about 1000 products, the update works well.

However when the feed is about 6000 products, update does not work. After clicking the update button, the wordpress screen goes blank. It does not give any specific error. Jus goes blank. I can still see the wordpress menu on the left hand side pane, but the wordpress screen goes blank.

I thought it may have something to do with wordpress memory and tried updating to 64 and 128 but still same results.

Have you got any clues on this. Am certain I am not the first one facing this.
  #7  
Old January 3rd, 2013, 05:33 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

Try going here: WordPress Admin Area > Tools > Datafeedr > Updates > Packet Sizes

Then change both fields (Download and Read) to 500.

That should help.

Eric
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
update products and settings hayward Questions 3 October 31st, 2011 06:26 PM
Update Products Only button patagonia Feature Requests 0 January 30th, 2011 12:54 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.