Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Problems
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 23rd, 2012, 03:16 PM
MasterPT MasterPT is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Default bing sitemap

I am looking for posts concerning Bing sitemaps.

bing shows the sitemap as empty.



Store ID:
Website URL: FitnessHealthandMind.com
URL to page in question: http://fitnesshealthandmind.com/store/sitemap
  #2  
Old March 23rd, 2012, 04:37 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

Can you post the screenshot of the Bing submission page?

Eric
  #3  
Old March 24th, 2012, 04:02 AM
MasterPT MasterPT is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Default bing and google screen shots

http://screencast.com/t/8Yck3VlXWLM

http://screencast.com/t/7ifL08V5b
  #4  
Old March 24th, 2012, 09:17 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

Those 2 screenshots seem to contradict each other. One says it's empty while the other says 7,699 urls were submitted and the response time of your server is too high.

I would first make sure that you are taking advantage of the caching that the Datafeedr plugin provides to lower the response time. /showthread.php?t=5770

Then, I think once Bing is able to crawl your site without the response time warnings, it will start to find those pages.

I've submitted my own site's sitemap to Bing and I will keep and eye on that.

Eric
  #5  
Old March 24th, 2012, 01:30 PM
MasterPT MasterPT is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Default

one is bing one is google
  #6  
Old March 24th, 2012, 04:23 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

Can you add ".xml" to the end of your Sitemap URL in the URL Settings section so that you have this:

store/sitemap.xml

Then resubmit this new version and see if Bing accepts that.

Eric
  #7  
Old March 25th, 2012, 04:51 AM
MasterPT MasterPT is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Default

That makes no sense at all.
adding .xml to the end only send you to a page not found page.
http://fitnesshealthandmind.com/store/sitemap.xml
  #8  
Old March 25th, 2012, 05:08 AM
MasterPT MasterPT is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Default

how long does it take the store cache option to go into effect? Followed the instructions as above and the store section of the site almost none responsive.
  #9  
Old March 25th, 2012, 08:36 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterPT View Post
That makes no sense at all.
adding .xml to the end only send you to a page not found page.
http://fitnesshealthandmind.com/store/sitemap.xml
Did you also change your sitemap field in your URL Settings here: The Factory > Your Store > Store menu > URL Settings ? It should be store/sitemap.xml



Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterPT View Post
how long does it take the store cache option to go into effect? Followed the instructions as above and the store section of the site almost none responsive.
It's immediate, as long as your directories are set up properly. It appears that your directories are not set up properly. Can you go here: WordPress Admin Area > Tools > Datafeedr > Directories and click the [Set Up] button?

Eric
  #10  
Old March 25th, 2012, 04:14 PM
MasterPT MasterPT is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Default

completed.
.xml added updated products and setting... still page not found

and clicked setup in directories

Last edited by MasterPT : March 25th, 2012 at 04:16 PM.
  #11  
Old March 25th, 2012, 04:53 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterPT View Post
completed.
.xml added updated products and setting... still page not found

and clicked setup in directories
Are you getting "page not found" or are you getting the "Empty" status?
  #12  
Old March 25th, 2012, 04:18 PM
MasterPT MasterPT is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Default

http://fitnesshealthandmind.com/store/sitemap.xml
  #13  
Old March 25th, 2012, 05:11 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

I read a bit more about this and it seems others also have the same issue with well formatted XML sitemap files and Bing not accepting them.

I read on Bing's site to validate the sitemap before submitting it to them so I validated yours with many different validators. They all pass the validation test:

http://www.xml-sitemaps.com/validate-xml-sitemap.html
http://sitemapxml.net/sitemap-validator.php
http://www.webmasterwebtools.com/sit...tion/index.php
http://www.validome.org/google/

Eric
  #14  
Old March 25th, 2012, 11:21 PM
MasterPT MasterPT is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Default

FYI, I say exactly what is going on.

The sitemap page now loads. I am no longer receiving a page not found page. I have submitted the sitemap with Bing and will resubmit with Google also.

The load time on anything in the store directory has not improved. I followed the directions above.

Visit the sitemap, wait for it to load....... click any link.. wait for a long time for the pages to load.

WE pay extra for top notch hosting. The main part of the site loads fast. The store is non functional.

Could WP super cache be causing a conflict?
  #15  
Old March 26th, 2012, 07:39 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

Glad to hear that the sitemap thing is worked out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterPT View Post
Could WP super cache be causing a conflict?
Can you PM me the following information:

BLOG LOGIN INFO with ADMINISTRATOR PERMISSIONS (Temporary login information preferred)
Admin URL:
Username:
Password:

FTP LOGIN INFORMATION (Temporary login information preferred)
Host:
Login:
Password:

Thanks,
Eric
  #16  
Old April 6th, 2012, 04:41 AM
MasterPT MasterPT is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Default reply notifications

would you tell me what to click to have notifications concerning this thread?

I have changed the selection below to instant notifications, but am not receiving a notification when you reply.
  #17  
Old April 6th, 2012, 04:48 AM
MasterPT MasterPT is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Default

PM sent thanks.
  #18  
Old April 6th, 2012, 08:54 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi
Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterPT View Post
The load time on anything in the store directory has not improved. I followed the directions above.

Visit the sitemap, wait for it to load....... click any link.. wait for a long time for the pages to load.

WE pay extra for top notch hosting. The main part of the site loads fast. The store is non functional.

Could WP super cache be causing a conflict?
OK, there were a few problems:

1. You were using a very old version of the plugin (version 3.3.3678) which didn't support caching of pages. I upgraded your plugin to version 3.6.4006 and made sure your directories were set up properly.

2. After that, your store page was still loading painfully slow. It's almost like it was stuck in a loop or a redirect. I tried to edit the store page (here: WordPress Admin Area > Pages > Fitness, Health and Mind Shopping) but even that resulted in a 500 error. So there was something wrong with how that page was configured. And because I couldn't even edit the page, I don't know what was mis-configured.

That being said, I moved that page to the Trash and created a new "Fitness, Health and Mind Shopping" page.

Now your store is much snappier and everything seems to be loading as expected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterPT View Post
would you tell me what to click to have notifications concerning this thread?

I have changed the selection below to instant notifications, but am not receiving a notification when you reply.
You can set up your email notifications here: /prof...seobj_uopt_msg

Choose "Instant Email Notification" under "Default Thread Subscription Mode".

Eric
  #19  
Old April 6th, 2012, 04:11 PM
MasterPT MasterPT is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 22
Default

This is the type of support that drives a successful business.

I will verify your findings. notifications are on : )
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sitemap jamies123a Problems 2 November 14th, 2011 03:16 PM
Sitemap problems... digitalcow Problems 3 October 5th, 2011 07:38 AM
Sitemap shr234 Questions 3 April 3rd, 2011 05:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.