Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Problems
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 13th, 2013, 07:16 AM
secrets secrets is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 45
Default Pager Error - and a fix

Hiya,

I noticed today that the pager I was using had stopped working properly and was just displaying "Pages: 1". I changed to Option 1, from Option 2, and it resolved itself. I had a look at the html, and I think it's just a double/single quote mistake, which I have copied below.

Thought I should flag it up.

Pager option 2 displays:
HTML Code:
<div class="pgr">
  Pages:
  <span>1</span>
  <a href="browse/2'>2</a>		<!--Double quote-->
  <a href='/browse/3'>3</a>
  <a href='/browse/4'>4</a>
  <a href='/browse/5'>5</a>
  <a href='/browse/6'>6</a>
  <a href='/browse/7'>7</a>
  <a href='/browse/8'>8</a>
  <a href='/browse/9'>9</a>
  <a href='/browse/10'>10</a>
  <a href='/browse/2'>
    <img src=" http:="" www.secretadviser.co.uk="" wp-content="" plugins="" datafeedr="" next.gif"="" alt="next page">
  </a>
  <a href="/browse/14'>			<!--Another double quote-->
    <img src=" http:="" www.secretadviser.co.uk="" wp-content="" plugins="" datafeedr="" last.gif"="" alt="last page">
  </a>
</div>
  #2  
Old March 13th, 2013, 08:40 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

Just to confirm, it is working now, right?

Eric

Yoast pager pagination

Last edited by Eric : April 8th, 2013 at 10:05 AM. Reason: added tags
  #3  
Old March 13th, 2013, 09:47 AM
secrets secrets is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 45
Default

Pager option 1 is working; option 2 is not. I haven't tested option 3.

I haven't made any alterations to anything though except to change my store pagers to option 1.
  #4  
Old March 13th, 2013, 10:20 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

I've added all 3 pagers to my site and they all seem to be functioning properly.

Have you installed any plugins that might be modifying URLs on your site?

Eric
  #5  
Old March 13th, 2013, 10:44 AM
secrets secrets is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 45
Default

Hmm probably, I've got a lot of custom functionality on my website. I updated a few plugins today but I reverted the ones I thought might be causing the issue and there was no difference.

I assumed it was probably a Datafeedr issue since the only way that seemed to fix it was to change the pager style entirely, and that it seemed to be a purely HTML issue. I don't know. I'll have another look and review it later if I get the chance.

Thanks anyway
  #6  
Old March 13th, 2013, 10:45 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

OK, if you still get the errors, if it's possible to leave the error live on your site so I can take a look at the source code, that would be helpful.

Eric
  #7  
Old March 13th, 2013, 10:56 AM
secrets secrets is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 45
Default

Ok, I'll try and have a look if I have time later.

At the moment for option 2 the source is displaying (for the pager):

HTML Code:
<div class="pgr">
  Pages:
  <span>1</span>   <a href="/browse/2'>2</a>   <a href='/browse/3'>3</a>   <a href='/browse/4'>4</a>   <a href='/browse/5'>5</a>   <a href='/browse/6'>6</a>   <a href='/browse/7'>7</a>   <a href='/browse/8'>8</a>   <a href='/browse/9'>9</a>   <a href='/browse/10'>10</a><a href='/browse/2'><img src="http://www.secretadviser.co.uk/wp-content/plugins/datafeedr//next.gif"  alt="next page" /></a><a href="/browse/14'><img src="http://www.secretadviser.co.uk/wp-content/plugins/datafeedr//last.gif"  alt="last page" /></a></div>
As I say it works absolutely fine with pager option 1
  #8  
Old March 13th, 2013, 10:59 AM
secrets secrets is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 45
Default

To be honest though, it's probably all my fault, I have added an awful lot of custom code and functionality to the website. It's just strange though because I'm pretty sure it was working last week, the last time I did any technical work on the site. I know this because I'd wrapped up pretty much all the web design and was celebrating having finished it lol . Today I was just doing standard updates and maintenance.
  #9  
Old March 13th, 2013, 11:13 AM
secrets secrets is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 45
Default

Ah this is interesting - I've discovered the root of the problem is the latest update for the plugin "Google Analytics for WordPress" by Joost de Valk. It's a pretty popular plugin, but again I don't know if the issue would actually be with my custom functionality.

Anyway for the time being I've changed to pager option 1, which works absolutely fine.
  #10  
Old March 13th, 2013, 03:40 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

Thanks for the update. Do you know why the Google plugin was causing problems?

Eric
  #11  
Old March 15th, 2013, 03:05 PM
secrets secrets is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 45
Default

I'm not sure, I've noticed though as well the same issue with some of my other images, like for instance merchant logos on product pages. I think it's definitely an image link thing, possibly with image alt attributes. Will experiment and report back.
  #12  
Old March 15th, 2013, 03:41 PM
secrets secrets is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 45
Default

Ok I've found a new post on the plugin support page with the same issue, and his website doesn't appear to be using Datafeedr. So it almost certainly isn't a Datafeedr issue, which I guess is lucky!

The plugin has 4 million + downloads so probably someone else will come across the same issue, at least now you can point them in the right direction.

Link to forum post is (http://wordpress.org/support/topic/c...uote-to-single) in case you want to keep track.

Thanks very much
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pager URL Structure... badnews Questions 8 February 11th, 2012 07:14 PM
Error received does not show error sunshine Problems 2 December 19th, 2011 12:27 PM
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STATIC ggentry Problems 1 February 25th, 2011 04:12 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.