Datafeedr Support Forums

Datafeedr Support Forums (/index.php)
-   Questions (/forumdisplay.php?f=67)
-   -   filters not working (/showthread.php?t=9526)

youngy August 27th, 2013 06:40 AM

filters not working
 
HI Eric,
Ive just added 2 filters to my website, price and merchant.

I think ive set it up correctly, but it doesn't seem to be working properly, what have I done wrong?

http://fancydress2u.com/events/halloween-costumes/girls

Eric August 27th, 2013 08:31 AM

Hi,

You need to go here: The Factory > Your Store > VIEWS > CATEGORY PAGE > Default > Product list module > Settings () and check the "Allow override" box.

Eric

youngy August 27th, 2013 10:43 AM

HI Eric,
Ok ive done that but both sets of filters dont seem to be working properly?

Eric August 27th, 2013 11:09 AM

Hi

Did you also click the Update Settings button?

Eric

youngy August 27th, 2013 11:17 AM

yes mate, Ive done that twice now but still they dont work

Eric August 27th, 2013 12:20 PM

Hi

The problem is that this page http://fancydress2u.com/events/halloween-costumes/girls is not a store URL.

The filters do work on your store pages:
http://fancydress2u.com/store/catego...s/?price=10-20

Eric

youngy August 28th, 2013 03:51 AM

Hi Eric,
Right ok, Is there a way I can make this work, as I spoke to the adowrds team last week and they said for my website to be seen as something more than just a "bridge" page, I will need price filters in place.

SO this bit is very important to have in place really.

How can I include it so it does work off the wordpress pages and posts?

Eric August 28th, 2013 07:00 AM

Hi,

I don't think it's possible for it to work on Posts and Pages. If you are displaying those products via a [shortcode], then it's not possible to pass in URL query strings into that shortcode.

Eric

youngy August 28th, 2013 07:19 AM

Hi Eric,
Thats a s shame If i cant do that on the front end, according to google its something which is quite important to include, otherwise ill just be a bridge website.

Also mate, when im on the store, the price filters seem to work ok, oddily though I can only get the "buy Costumes" work on the merchant filter, why dont the others work?

Dave

Eric August 28th, 2013 07:31 AM

Hi,

Regarding Google, you already have included the filters. Those are on all of your store pages. Having 1 page without filters doesn't seem to me what Google means. Did Google say that you need to have filters on every single page which has products?

The reason your merchant filters aren't working is because you need to use the merchant's name, not their URL.

Try this:

HTML Code:

<ul>
        <li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='merchant=Anytime Costumes']">Anytime Costumes</a></li>
        <li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='merchant=BuyCostumes.com']">Buy Costumes</a></li>
        <li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='merchant=Costume Discounters']">Costume Discounters</a></li>
        <li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='merchant=Costume SuperCenter']">Costume Super Center</a></li>
        <li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='merchant=HalloweenAndCostumes.com']">Halloween and Costumes</a></li>
        <li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='merchant=Wholesale Costume Club']">Wholesale Costume Club</a></li>
</ul>

Eric

youngy August 28th, 2013 07:34 AM

Thanks Eric,
WHat im goign to do I think its just have a link/image from the wordpress side ie "CLick to Filter Products and Prices"

SO when your taken to the "store" then you can begin your filterting down.

Thats pretty much teh only ay to do this isnt it?

On that note with the category image, How do I display 2nd and 3rd level?

[category.list before='<ul>' after='</ul>']

[category.if active="self"]
<li class="active">
[category.name]
[category.repeat]
</li>
[/category.if]

[category.if active="child"]
<li>
<a href="[category.link]" title="[category.name]">[category.name]</a>
[category.repeat]
</li>
[/category.if]

[category.if active="parent"]
<li>
<a href="[category.link]" title="[category.name]">[category.name]</a>
</li>
[/category.if]

[category.if active="no"]
<li>
<a href="[category.link]" title="[category.name]">[category.name]</a>
</li>
[/category.if]

[/category.list]

youngy August 28th, 2013 07:34 AM

Pardon my typos above!!

Eric August 28th, 2013 07:43 AM

Hi
Quote:

Originally Posted by youngy (Post 44205)
On that note with the category image, How do I display 2nd and 3rd level?

Do you just need to display all categories of all levels? If so, use this code:

HTML Code:

[category.list before='<ul>' after='</ul>']
<li>
  <a href="[category.link]" title="[category.name]">[category.name]</a>
  [category.repeat]
</li>
[/category.list]

Eric

youngy August 28th, 2013 07:52 AM

Nearly mate!!

I want al levels apart from the "product" level. Other wise side bar gets to long.

SO in other words:

womens - decade - 1920s costumes

SO just the 3 levels , not 4

Eric August 28th, 2013 08:00 AM

Hi

You can set the depth of categories displayed in the category list module's settings. Try setting it to 3.

Eric

youngy August 28th, 2013 08:04 AM

Ahh right got it mate!

Is there away to highlight the 1st and 2nd levels? Ie bold text or bigger text, Even a coloued background behind them?

Eric August 28th, 2013 08:14 AM

Hi,

You can change this line:
HTML Code:

<li>
To this:
HTML Code:

<li class="list_depth_<?php echo $depth; ?>">
Then create CSS classes like this:

.list_depth_1 { color:red;}
.list_depth_2 { color:green;}
.list_depth_3 { color:blue;}

You can find more information regarding categories here: http://www.datafeedr.com/docs/item/169

Eric

youngy August 28th, 2013 08:22 AM

Ive added that Eric, but its not working, ive done something wrong. sorry!

Eric August 28th, 2013 08:35 AM

Hi,

Try this for the CSS:

Code:

.list_depth_1 a { color:red;}
.list_depth_2 a { color:green;}
.list_depth_3 a { color:blue;}

Eric

youngy August 28th, 2013 08:38 AM

Cracked it mate!! I can play around with them now!

You like the site by the way?

I just hope it is going to be able to rank ok!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.