Datafeedr Support Forums

Datafeedr Support Forums (/index.php)
-   Questions (/forumdisplay.php?f=67)
-   -   Unique Content Vs No Content (/showthread.php?t=5119)

youngy September 5th, 2011 11:40 AM

Unique Content Vs No Content
 
Hi,
Ok I have about 3 sites ive used with datafeedr, theyve been going 1 - 2 months, and when I started they were on the 1st page. However since using datafeedr they have dropped off.

This leads me to thinking they potentially may have had a -50 or -100 slap, due to unique content. The domains and indeed still indexed at this moment in time.

Firstly, do you agree with this analysis, and secondly would it be advised to do away with detail product descriptions so theres no duplicate content, and just use the bare bones of the system i.e. buying buttons, images logo etc?

Thanks
Dave

digitalcow September 5th, 2011 11:54 AM

Do you have any backlinks to the pages? If new sites it is likely that you received a boost up the rankings and have since dropped back as google has found your correct place. I see it all the time with clients for my seo business. If you get some backlinks you should soon start to move back up the listings

youngy September 5th, 2011 12:25 PM

Hi,
These sites are around 2 years old. They were on first page for some decent terms, lg tvs, american fridge freezers etc. They were there for quite some time to, whout hardly any backlinks!

Since using datadfeedr and started backlinking, my rankings have, well dissapeared completely.

As google isnt a huge fan on duplicate content i just wondered if it was because of this.

stefan September 6th, 2011 07:57 AM

You may want to read this interesting article...

http://www.seotrainingalliance.com/t...-does-it-exist

youngy September 6th, 2011 11:42 AM

Interesting Stefan, So I should leave my sites as they are and keep backlinking.

Surely youd know, do you build websites with datafeedr that has lots of duplicate details, product descriptions etc?

Do you find theres little on no harm doing this?

Dave

stefan September 6th, 2011 06:18 PM

I advise you to add real unique content and continue building backlinks.

Honestly in what degree duplicate descriptions are harmful for an affiliate site only Google can tell.

Watch the Matt Cutts video below...

/showthread.php?t=1436

If you want to stay on the safe side you can choose to...

- not display product descriptions

- rewrite product descriptions

Another more drastic way is to block your store from the search engines via your robots.txt file and drive traffic to your store via your content pages.

Instead of trying to rank your store pages you try to rank your content pages. More background info below...

http://www.jtpratt.com/does-google-h...-in-wordpress/

youngy September 6th, 2011 06:29 PM

Thanks Stefan thats very helpful. What do I need to put in the robots.txt, just paths to pages/posts I dont want ranking?

Thats fine on small sites, but on large sites is ther a quick way to do it?

Thanks
Dave

stefan September 6th, 2011 07:42 PM

I think this should do it (assuming your store page is called store)

User-agent: *
Disallow: /store/

youngy September 9th, 2011 12:29 PM

HI Stefan, thank for your feedback, I was just about to do as instructed above, but then I thought, if I did that all the descriptions Ive re-written on the datafeed side wont therefore get ranked will they?

Im trying to move away from drip feeding as upto now its not worked, infact ive switched it off and my theory is now to use datafeedr but keep it hidden as much as possible, and when used to rewrite any descriptions it produces in the factory.

Im not having any posts at all on my new sites, just pages, and not many of them.

Is there a better way?

Thanks
dave

stefan September 9th, 2011 01:39 PM

If you want to display product descriptions and you've rewritten your product descriptions or plan to do so I don't see a reason why you should block your store.

youngy September 14th, 2011 07:38 AM

Hi,
Can I just confirm ive done this correctly.

Ive set the robots.txt file on the uk side:

User-agent: *
Disallow: uk/store/details/

and on the us side: (2nd installation of wp)

User-agent: *
Disallow: us/store/details/


is this correct?

Presumably now, as Ive taken off product descriptions (only on "details" pages). No duplicate content will be shown anywhere now on my site, as ive blocked the "details" pages from search engines?

Thanks
Dave

Eric September 14th, 2011 08:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngy (Post 23740)
is this correct?

I would use a robots.txt checker to confirm your settings:

http://www.google.com/support/webmas...rom=35237&rd=1
http://www.searchenginepromotionhelp...ts-checker.php
http://tool.motoricerca.info/robots-checker.phtml

Eric

knizamb September 23rd, 2011 05:01 AM

Hi..

This is my 1st post. :)

If I rewrite the product description.. it will remain same if I update the product or it will back to the original description?

Eric September 23rd, 2011 09:23 AM

Hi

Welcome to the forums!

If you rewrite the product description, the new description that you provide will appear on your site, even after updates.

Also, please read the forum posting rules regarding multiple issues in one thread.

Thanks,
Eric


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.