Datafeedr Support Forums

Datafeedr Support Forums (/index.php)
-   Questions (/forumdisplay.php?f=67)
-   -   Datafeedr Image Display Limitation? (/showthread.php?t=4207)

kaje March 25th, 2011 02:29 PM

Datafeedr Image Display Limitation?
 
Can I manually change the column datafeedr reads to display an image?

The feed I can manually download from my merchant on GAN, has a full sized image column available. Datafeedr seems to only pull the thumbnail image. Is there way to set/choose what image column datafeedr should use? Can I remap this or can this be remapped.

If not is there any other way for me to get access to the larger images of the feed? i.e. storing them locally etc.?

Thanks!

Eric March 25th, 2011 02:31 PM

What merchant are you referring to?
What's an example product as well?

We should be pulling down a small and large image from GAN already.

kaje March 25th, 2011 02:41 PM

The merchant is 4checks and they provide option images in their feed (Option7 & Option8). This is an example product...http://www.artisticchecks.com/artist...233STCHK_e.gif

kaje March 25th, 2011 02:47 PM

If you had to pick on column for large image it should be the Option8 column.

Eric March 25th, 2011 03:03 PM

Hi

We only index the known fields from a merchant's datafeed.

The only option I think you have is to replace the "Image" field with the URL for the large image within the Factory. To find that field, click the "more info" link for the products.

Or you could write some logic within your views to serve up the large image when needed. It seems the pattern for their images is this:

http://www.messageproducts.com/message_assets/images/product/8MHBPCHK_m.jpg
http://www.messageproducts.com/message_assets/images/product/8MHBPCHK_e.gif


So, you could use a simple str_replace in your views to substitute _m.jpg with _e.gif.

Eric

kaje March 25th, 2011 03:36 PM

Thanks Eric for you fast replies. So the option fields aren't "known" fields? The problem is apparently the known fields don't provide a large image? Any way that can be fixed or is that on the merchant?

I really need the _e.gif image to show so your idea about writing a code snippet to substitute the tail end of the string is a great idea. Unfortunately I'm not very good at php code. Is this something any php coder could write?

And to implement this code just be paste it into the views section of whatever product list is being displayed? Sorry for the rookie questions.

Eric March 25th, 2011 03:44 PM

Hi

Yes, unfortunately, GAN doesn't provide multiple image fields and therefore the merchant has no idea where to put their additional images.

If you do something like this in your views, that will display the large images:

Code:

<?php $large_image_url = str_replace("_m.jpg", "_e.gif", $product->thumbnail); ?>
<img src="<?php echo $large_image_url; ?>" alt="[product.name]" />

Eric

kaje April 1st, 2011 02:18 PM

Works great
 
Thank you!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.