Datafeedr Support Forums

Datafeedr Support Forums (/index.php)
-   Questions (/forumdisplay.php?f=67)
-   -   Help with Custom views, please (/showthread.php?t=3910)

Kaetemar February 9th, 2011 07:46 PM

Help with Custom views, please
 
Hi-

I have my site set up as:

Home - Blog

Spa - General products

Category = Global View of Products in this Category

Sub-Category = Each individual product line (brand/manufacturer)

Sub-Category= Product type


I did read through a thread about using filters instead of categories-as-filters, but I am trying this out for now because it makes sense in my niche (I think...:) )

In any case, I want to set up a unique view for each of the Category=Global View of Products in this category pages.

For example, several of my brand/manufacturers are: Sothys, Babor & Dermalogica

So my layout is as such:

Product Lines (global list of all the product lines, where I want to include company logos as links)

Sothys
Product category 1 from Sothys
Product category 2 from Sothys

Babor
Product category 1 from Babor
Product category 2 from Babor


etc....

Here are my questions:

On my global page "Product Lines" how do I insert clickable logos from each of my brands in that category?

Some of my categories (ex: Moisturizers, Masks, Exfoilants) pull from all my brands. How do I put a cross section of my brand products on the opening pages for each of these sub-categories?

Please point me in the right direction.

Thank you!

-Kaete

Eric February 10th, 2011 11:16 AM

Hi
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kaetemar (Post 17870)
On my global page "Product Lines" how do I insert clickable logos from each of my brands in that category?

You need to add the following code to this page: The Factory > Your Store > VIEWS > STORE FRONT PAGE > Default > Product list module > Template area:

[product.merchant_logo]

Just add that wherever you want the logo to appear.

If you want it to be clickable and take you to the product you would do this:

<a href="[product.link]" title="[product.name]">[product.merchant_logo]</a>

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kaetemar (Post 17870)
Some of my categories (ex: Moisturizers, Masks, Exfoilants) pull from all my brands. How do I put a cross section of my brand products on the opening pages for each of these sub-categories?

This is a little trickier... I guess the easiest way is just show a set of random products on your store's front page. Currently, it's not possible to target multiple categories when displaying products.

Kaetemar February 11th, 2011 05:43 AM

Further ??? about custom views
 
Hi -

Thank you for your answer. I think my question was unclear, though.

I have certain pages in the site that I want to put different custom views on.

How do I do that? Meaning, how do I take a specific custom view and attach it to a specific page? And have a different custom view for a different page?

Thank you!

Eric February 11th, 2011 08:12 AM

Hi

Once your new custom view is created, you just need to embed that view into the page by using a shortcode in your post like this:

[DFR:Custom View Name Here]

So if your custom view is named "Cool Gadgets", then you would add the following code to one of your pages text areas (ie. where you write your page content):

[DFR:Cool Gadgets]

Kaetemar February 11th, 2011 08:52 AM

OK, but how do I open up a specific page to insert text? Every time I click on the page in my Category list, it just asks me to "Add Products." It does not tell me where to Add Text. Thank you!

Eric February 11th, 2011 10:49 AM

When you say page, what kind of page are you talking about? I assumed you were referring to a WordPress Page...

Kaetemar February 11th, 2011 04:18 PM

CPU/RAM NEeded for a DFr site
 
Hi -

It seems that my newly installed DFr site is hogging a lot of space on my shared hosting plan. Has anyone else had this problem?

Should I move to a virtual dedicated server? The site is not even fully "up" yet, and is taking up a lot of CPU/RAM

I am being told by my hosting plan to deactivate the DFr plugin to test if that is really what is causing the issue. If I do so, will it ruin my store? Or will I simply be able to re-load it?

Any suggestions would be helpful.

Thank you!

-Kaete

Eric February 11th, 2011 04:20 PM

Hi

Do you know exactly what processes are taking up a lot of CPU/RAM? Can you ask your host?

Eric

Kaetemar February 11th, 2011 04:37 PM

Here is the thread from dreamhost:

you: Domain is: http://acne-treatments-that-work.org

Kristine: 2011-02-11 13:25:22 procwatch2 INFO: Process(pid=27891, name='php5.cgi', uid=kaetemar(10900767), tty=None, cpu=23.0, rss=49312.0, vsize=157136.0): kill for total RAM

you: Is that a bad thing?

Kristine: That's the log entry for the procwatch kill.

Kristine: Here's the process:

Kristine: Process(pid=27891, name='php5.cgi'

Kristine: Here's a little info about that:

Kristine: http://wiki.dreamhost.com/Killed

Kristine: Also this wiki:

Kristine: http://www.prelovac.com/vladimir/wor...mization-guide

Kristine: For keeping WordPress running smoothly.

you: I will pass it along to the plugin creator and see if he can do anything - Is there a way of knowing for sure, though that it is a certain plugin that is causing the errors?

Kristine: I would start with checking your site's error logs and also the disable/enable test is a good indicator.



Eric - does this mean anything to you?

Best,

Kaete

Eric February 11th, 2011 04:43 PM

Hi Kaete

It doesn't really tell me much. Have you been updating your site a lot today? If so, and your store is large, that might be causing a heavy load.

Also, if you are running a WP plugin that does automated things such as backups, then those can also tend to cause a heavy load.

But Kristine's advice is good for a start.

Eric


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.