Datafeedr Support Forums

Datafeedr Support Forums (/index.php)
-   Questions (/forumdisplay.php?f=67)
-   -   share this for detail page (/showthread.php?t=11099)

yankeestonk October 7th, 2014 02:38 PM

share this for detail page
 
Do you know if a "share this bar" could be put on the top of every search result/details page so if someone wanted to say share on facebook the individual product would be shared and not the whole site URL?

Eric October 7th, 2014 05:15 PM

Hi,

Here's how to put the Like button on each of your product pages: /showthread.php?t=7168

I guess you could tweak that code to add the Share button.

Eric

yankeestonk October 7th, 2014 05:37 PM

2 issues. One is that it's not sharing the product, but the whole site. I wanted it to share the product that is being displayed.

The second issue is it is not above the product detail but smashed in there at the top.

Anything that can be done or should I just remove it?

http://saveongolf.net

yankeestonk October 7th, 2014 06:30 PM

Ok, I fixed the issue with the running together at the top by adding the "product details" h2 tag.

But the button is still not sharing the product or displaying the image of the product. It's sharing an image from the homepage and 9 times out of 10 sharing the main URL.

I did try the suggestion you have of changing the code if you are taking the images directly from the retailer site. (which I don't believe I'm doing anyway). But did the same thing.

Help!

Eric October 7th, 2014 08:58 PM

Hi,

Try test "sharing" completely different products. The issue is FB heavily caches shared post data and if you re-share a post, it doesn't get overridden with the new data.

Eric

yankeestonk October 7th, 2014 09:05 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Hey Eric. I have over 5000 products in my store. I picked the most random ones I could find and they all show this facebook popup attached.

stefan October 8th, 2014 12:36 AM

Did you try this plugin: /showthread.php?t=10613

yankeestonk October 8th, 2014 07:29 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Hey Stefan,
How do you remember this stuff?! I completely forgot I had asked about this before! I added the code you had in your answer and it's displaying the bar. All the buttons work ok it seems except for the facebook one which is still sharing the homepage. Not sure if there is anything that can be done with that.

However the bar is squishing together with the product image and detail. Any way to make it stay above? see attached. http://saveongolf.net/store/taylorma...8202080149841/

stefan October 8th, 2014 08:36 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Try to add the code directly into your product detail module instead of a separate text module.

You can also play around with the template settings in Easy Social Share Buttons > Main Settings > Template.

Also see screenshot. Check the Yoast option in Easy Social Share Buttons plugin > Main Settings > Administrative Options.

yankeestonk October 8th, 2014 08:45 AM

on top of product detail or below or doesn't it matter?

stefan October 8th, 2014 08:52 AM

It doesn't matter.

yankeestonk October 8th, 2014 09:02 AM

1 Attachment(s)
tried it on top and at the bottom. On top in still runs into the product. On the bottom is renders behind the other products module. I haven't touched the settings in Easy share yet but the attachment image you posted shows that unchecked. Mine is checked. Should I uncheck it? I doubt that will make it render differently though right? What is that supposed to do? Even the share bar I have near the bottom of every page doesn't work properly for facebook. It usually pulls the homepage URL, but sometimes it pulls the product info. But even when it pulls the product info. it shows the same image from the homepage every time. (one of the images from the slider everytime)

Don't know if it matters but when I tried to add breadcrumbs to the search results those also ran into the product details. At this point I would be happy just to get the bar near the bottom of every page to share the URL and info. from the page it's on and the image of the product not that slider image. Do you think it's a setting in the app somewhere?

Do you think it would help to somehow set the share bar to load last on the page?

Check out this setting area. Are these set correctly do you think?

stefan October 8th, 2014 09:38 AM

As already mentioned above: Check the Yoast Google Analytics option in Easy Social Share Buttons plugin > Main Settings > Administrative Options because you're using the Yoast Google Analytics plugin.

I'm not using the setting that you show in your screenshot.

All I can say is that the plugin is working on my personal websites. I just tested it once again and the product with product url is shared on facebook.

It's possible that your theme is not compatible or that one or more of the plugins you're using is causing conflicts.

yankeestonk October 8th, 2014 06:55 PM

I do have that checked already. I tried changing a bunch of different settings and it still doesn't work. I wrote to Easy Share to see if they have any idea. Problem is with datafeedr involved in the mix it gives an extra variable with this widget. Once you jumped the shark and said it might be something in the theme I kinda lost hope of getting it to work.

stefan October 8th, 2014 11:35 PM

It might be the Yoast plugin that is causing the problems.

I don't have that plugin installed on my sites and there it's working as it should.

First of all the title tag on all your store pages is the same!

<title>Compare Prices - Save On Golf</title>

This is a no-no in SEO.

Looks like the Yoast plugin is overwriting the titles from Datafeedr.

For your detail pages you should see the product name and category name in the title

<title>[product.name] | [category.name] | </title> as defined here

The Factory > Your Store > VIEWS > PRODUCT DETAIL > Default > View menu > View <head> Elements

Can you try disabling the Yoast plugin(s) entirely to see what the Easy Social Share Buttons does in that case?

If you do, don't forget to uncheck the Yoast Google Analytics option in Easy Social Share Buttons plugin > Main Settings > Administrative Options.

yankeestonk October 9th, 2014 06:20 AM

Hi Stefan,

I disabled the Yoast Plugin and unchecked it in the other. I also cleared the cache with the super cache widget. Still doing same thing. I'm going to try and clear facebook's cache as well. There is a way to do that and I'm working on it. I don't think that's going to change it though. Something else is going on. You mentioned the code in the details' page. Can you look at it for me. I'm pasting below. Just to see if I have something way off. Also I'm not sure I know how you could tell the pages all had the same title. Could you check that and tell me if it's still like that with the Yoast off now? http://saveongolf.net

<!-- Detail Heading -->
<h2>Product Details:</h2>
<!-- /Detail Heading -->

<!-- Single Product -->
<div class="sp">
<div class="bdr">
<div class="lc">
<div class="thmb">
<a href="[product.url direct='0']" title="[product.name]" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">
[product.image tag='1']
</a>
</div>
</div>
</div>
<div class="rc">
<h2><a href="[product.url direct='0']" title="[product.name]" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">[product.name]</a></h2>

<?php if ($product->saleprice > 0 && $product->saleprice < $product->price) { ?>
<div class="prc">
<small>
<span style="text-decoration: line-through;">[product.currency mode='sign'][product.price]</span>
<span style="font-weight: bold; color:red;">[product.currency mode='sign'][product.saleprice]</span>
</small>
</div>
<?php } else { ?>
<div class="prc">
<small>
[product.currency mode='sign'][product.price]
</small>
</div>
<?php } ?>
<p class="desc"> [product.description]</p>
<div class="logo">[product.merchant_logo]</div>
<div>
[product.each_tag]<?php if($nn>1){echo ', ';}?><a href="[tag.link]"><?php echo str_replace("-"," ",$tag->name);?></a>[/product.each_tag]
</div>

<?php if ($product->saleprice > 0 && $product->saleprice < $product->price) { ?>

<?php } else { ?>


<?php } ?>

<div class="btns">
<a href="[product.url]" class="dfbutton dforange dflarge" title="See more details at retailer" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">See It</a>
</div>
</div>
<div class="clearingdiv"> </div>
</div>
<!-- /Single Product -->

stefan October 9th, 2014 06:34 AM

Title looks ok now. With title I mean the title you see in your browser window or what appears between the <title> </title> tags in the source code of your webpages.

- For example this product page

http://saveongolf.net/store/taylorma...8202080149841/

has now as title "Taylormade Men's Rocketballz Stage 2 Driver Right Handed New | TaylorMade Drivers".

- For example this category page

http://saveongolf.net/store/category/adams-drivers/

has now as title "Adams Drivers".

yankeestonk October 9th, 2014 06:39 AM

great. thanks. Couple more questions. So you think I should leave the Yoast SEO off for good now right? Do I need to find some other for of sitemap generator or SEO program. Or is the nature of datafeedr sites is such that you really don't need that?

Also, this is a long shot. I think I have my supercache settings messed up somehow. If I privately gave you my WP login could you look at it? Otherwise we could be here all day. I understand if you can't though. The can of worms thing...

yankeestonk October 9th, 2014 07:40 AM

I found this article on how facebook shares settings. Does any of this sound like something I should be doing?

http://umairj.com/29/modify-how-the-...s-on-facebook/


I found this facebook debugger tool and put in a detail page link and it came up with the following errors. The first is the link to the page and the second is the url I used to test. Can you look at it and determine if there is a setting maybe in the head that I need to put some code to fix?

https://developers.facebook.com/tools/debug/og/object/

http://saveongolf.net/store/scotty-c...7901904785560/

stefan October 9th, 2014 11:46 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeestonk (Post 51248)
I found this article on how facebook shares settings. Does any of this sound like something I should be doing?

http://umairj.com/29/modify-how-the-...s-on-facebook/

I found this facebook debugger tool and put in a detail page link and it came up with the following errors. The first is the link to the page and the second is the url I used to test. Can you look at it and determine if there is a setting maybe in the head that I need to put some code to fix?

https://developers.facebook.com/tools/debug/og/object/

http://saveongolf.net/store/scotty-c...7901904785560/

See attached screenshot.

Your theme or one of your plugins is adding og tags to your source code.

og tags are open graph tags (See http://ogp.me/ for more info).

These tags are used by social sharing sites like Facebook.

The og tags display the wrong info (see below).

The og:title for example shows not the title of your product detail page.

The og:url for example shows the url of your home page and not the URL of the actual product page.

That's why the Easy Social Share Buttons plugin is not functioning properly.

You should get rid of these tags or make sure they are filled in correctly.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.