Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Questions
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 7th, 2014, 09:59 AM
jerseyal jerseyal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 56
Default Site Migration

Website URL: www.sports-pets.com

I am moving my two datafeedr sites to a different hosting plan. I have done the wordpress migration to a temporary domain. viewing what it looks like, the front page formatting is way off (showing huge images instead of thumnails, one column instead of three, etc.)

For comparison:

temp site: http://977.898.myftpupload.com/
original site" http://sports-pets.com

My question for you is, do you think this has something to do with a second site being in existence using the same datafeedr key or simply the migration was not totally successful?

Just looking for advice before I do more troubleshooting.

Al
  #2  
Old July 7th, 2014, 10:02 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

The main issue is that your store's style.css file is missing: http://977.898.myftpupload.com/store/style.css

Try clicking the [Update Products and Settings] button on your new store.

Eric
  #3  
Old July 7th, 2014, 10:15 AM
jerseyal jerseyal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 56
Default

Actually, now I see on the directories page, none of them are found. Could be a permissions issue?
  #4  
Old July 7th, 2014, 10:22 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

Yes, most definitely.

I would delete the "store" directory here: /wp-content/uploads/store

Then go here WordPress Admin Area > Tools > Datafeedr > Directories and click the [Set Up] button to rebuild the directories.

Then click the [Update Products and Settings] button.

Eric
  #5  
Old July 7th, 2014, 10:22 AM
jerseyal jerseyal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 56
Default

what would the proper permissions be for the store directory and subdirectories?
  #6  
Old July 7th, 2014, 10:24 AM
jerseyal jerseyal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 56
Default

never mind - I asked that before seeing your last message.
  #7  
Old July 7th, 2014, 11:12 AM
jerseyal jerseyal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 56
Default

deleted store directory, Click on Setup and get the following:

ERROR:unserialize(): Error at offset 287 of 472 bytes() line=139
ERROR:mkdir(): Permission denied() line=537
ERROR:err_dir_cannot_create(/home/content/25/10090525/html/wp-content/uploads/store/temp)
ERROR:err_dir_cannot_create()

Permissions of the uploads directory is 705, which is what it is on the original site.
  #8  
Old July 7th, 2014, 11:52 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

You will need to change permissions of your uploads directory. It's best to ask your host what that should be.

Eric
  #9  
Old July 7th, 2014, 01:12 PM
jerseyal jerseyal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 56
Default

even if I make everything 777, it still fails with the error. I'm going to abort this migration attempt for now. I've migrated five other sites but the only two that are failing are my datafeedr sites, so I'm pretty sure there is some conflict between the migration tool and datafeedr. Is there some way I can export all of the datafeeder info, remove the plugin, migrate the site and then restore the datafeedr info?
  #10  
Old July 7th, 2014, 01:21 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

Can you PM me the following information for your NEW site:

BLOG LOGIN INFO with ADMINISTRATOR PERMISSIONS (Temporary login information preferred)
Admin URL:
Username:
Password:

FTP LOGIN INFORMATION (Temporary login information preferred)
Host:
Login:
Password:

Thanks,
Eric
  #11  
Old July 7th, 2014, 01:30 PM
jerseyal jerseyal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 56
Default

I already deleted it. But, my other site is in the same condition, so I'll send you that info instead.
  #12  
Old July 7th, 2014, 02:21 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

Here's what I did on your new site to get it transferred:
  1. Delete all paths and URLs here WordPress Admin Area > Tools > Datafeedr > Directories
  2. Change temporary directory to /tmp here: WordPress Admin Area > Tools > Datafeedr > Directories
  3. Upgrade plugin from 3.10.4494 to 3.11.6749
  4. Change BuyPackersGear.com to 77b.8da.myftpupload.com in Factory under Basic Store Settings
  5. Change the "CSS File" settings to %lc here: The Factory > Your Store > Store menu > URL Settings
  6. Go here WordPress Admin Area > Tools > Datafeedr > Directories and click [Set Up]
  7. Click [Update Products and Settings] here WordPress Admin Area > Tools > Datafeedr

Now your Packer's site is up and running on your new server.

Eric
  #13  
Old July 7th, 2014, 02:34 PM
jerseyal jerseyal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 56
Default

awesome - but now I have to go change the site to be the correct domain (buypackersgear.com). Once I do that, do I just reverse step 4 and repeat steps 5-7 or is there more?
  #14  
Old July 7th, 2014, 04:16 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Once you change the new site to point to your domain name, you will just have to reverse step #4.
  #15  
Old July 7th, 2014, 05:37 PM
jerseyal jerseyal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 56
Default

It worked beautifully! Thanks Eric!
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Do I Move From A 1 Site Plan To A 5 Site Pan? bz9bz9 Questions 10 July 30th, 2013 02:14 PM
Can I get the Amazon URL within the site so I can modify URL within the site sandeep821 Questions 2 April 26th, 2012 10:20 AM
Subscriptions - change from 5 site to 10 site redspan Questions 3 August 14th, 2011 12:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.