Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Feature Requests
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 10th, 2014, 01:56 AM
bradleyhebdon bradleyhebdon is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 160
Default Category Name should not be the same as Category Page Title Name

I've noticed a flaw in how labeling categories is setup.

There are two main uses for a category name:
1) category navigation
2) page title

Here's an example of category levels:

1. retro clothing
1.1 dresses
1.1.1 wedding

that works great for navigation.

However, as a page title, "Wedding" doesn't work because it's non description and is not in the context of a hierarchy.

For a title, I'd want "Retro Wedding Dresses"

My suggestion is that you add a page title field. That way you have more control - similarly to how you're allowing a user to enter the slug as a different label.
  #2  
Old April 10th, 2014, 05:57 AM
stefan stefan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,901
Default

A workaround is to test on category ID and then specify a unique title for that ID.

1. To find the ID of a category just click on a category name in the Factory and look in the URL. The category ID is the number following cat=.

2. Then go to The Factory > Your Store > VIEWS > CATEGORY PAGE > Default > View menu > View <head> Elements

3. Replace <title>[category.name] - Vintage Shopper</title> with the code below.

In example below a unique title has been specified for 3 categories with IDs 123, 456 and 789. The other categories follow the default. Adjust the code to your needs.

Code:
<?php if ($category->id==123){ ?>
           <title> xxxxxxxxx - Vintage Shopper</title>

<?php } elseif ($category->id==456) { ?>
           <title> yyyyyyyyy - Vintage Shopper</title>

<?php } elseif ($category->id==789) { ?>
           <title> zzzzzzzzz - Vintage Shopper</title>

<?php } else { ?>
           <title>[category.name] - Vintage Shopper</title>
<?php } ?>
  #3  
Old April 10th, 2014, 09:43 AM
bradleyhebdon bradleyhebdon is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 160
Default

Wow, that is a workaround -- not really a fix. If you have a hundred categories, NOT ideal.

Surely this issue has been brought up by other customers? Would you guys consider my solution to the problem please?

Thanks
  #4  
Old April 10th, 2014, 10:46 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Thread moved to "Feature Request" forum.
  #5  
Old April 10th, 2014, 10:53 AM
stefan stefan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,901
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleyhebdon View Post
Wow, that is a workaround -- not really a fix. If you have a hundred categories, NOT ideal.
The workaround is specifically when you need a different title than the default for a specific category like in the example you mentioned (Retro Wedding Dresses instead of Wedding).

You don't need to define titles for all category IDs.

The category ids you don't specify automatically get the default title - that is the title which is specified in the else clause.

Code:
...
else { ?>
           <title>[category.name] - Vintage Shopper</title>
<?php } ?>
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradleyhebdon View Post
Surely this issue has been brought up by other customers? Would you guys consider my solution to the problem please?
What's the difference with your solution: "add a page title field" versus the suggested workaround?

If you have a hundred categories, you would also have to enter 100 times a different title into a field if you want another title than the default.

About the same amount of work just another implementation.

Last edited by stefan : April 10th, 2014 at 10:55 AM.
  #6  
Old April 10th, 2014, 03:32 PM
bradleyhebdon bradleyhebdon is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 160
Default

The difference with my solution is focusing on data input where it should be, not via code.

That's why interfaces are designed and built.

Also, in your solution you have to go up and look up the id for each category. if you simply have that field in the UI for category properties -- dead simple.

Last edited by bradleyhebdon : April 10th, 2014 at 03:34 PM.
  #7  
Old April 10th, 2014, 03:37 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

You may be more interested in our WooCommerce solution: http://www.datafeedr.com/wc

Eric
  #8  
Old April 11th, 2014, 01:27 AM
bradleyhebdon bradleyhebdon is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 160
Default

Yeah, I've been told that already.

The only problem is (and correct me if I'm wrong) - don't you need a separate website to run a woocommerce theme?
  #9  
Old April 11th, 2014, 06:06 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

No, WooCommerce can run on any installation of WordPress.

If your current theme is not WooCommerce compatible the following link can help with that:

http://77webstudio.com/make-wordpres...ce-compatible/

Eric
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to change category page title? niche888 Questions 3 December 5th, 2012 10:53 PM
Display category title on Category Page Michaelgs Questions 1 July 20th, 2012 09:02 PM
Category/Product Name NOT in Page Title? directclothes Problems 12 June 20th, 2012 02:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.