Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Problems
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 8th, 2013, 02:40 AM
ayorofrance ayorofrance is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 430
Default Problems with product names using & in Adtraction

Store ID: 41110 & 41505
Website URL: Sent in PM
URL to page in question: Sent in PM

Hi Eric,

It seems there might be a problem with the encoding of affiliate links on products that have & in the name on the Adtraction network.

I've sent you some samples of working and not working url's in a PM.

Thanks,
Anders
__________________
WordPress Security - Is your WordPress secure? Get our FREE checklist and find out.

Easy-Email - Access ALL your email accounts with one login & synchronize automatically on all your computers.
  #2  
Old May 8th, 2013, 09:07 AM
stefan stefan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,901
Default

I don't think it's the & that is causing the problem.

See attached a few product records from the smartbuyglasses datafeed.

Below is the landing page URL:

...http://www.smartbuyglasses.se/glasögon/Versace/Versace-VE3144-884-107446.html?feed=se+adtraction&utm_source=Comparis on%2BShopping%2BFeed&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=s e_adtraction

The URL contains glasögon in the landing page URL.

I think that's causing the problem.

When I replace glasögon with glasgon the link redirects properly.

...http://www.smartbuyglasses.se/glasgon/Versace/Versace-VE3144-884-107446.html?feed=se+adtraction&utm_source=Comparis on%2BShopping%2BFeed&utm_medium=cpc&utm_campaign=s e_adtraction
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	adtraction.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	335.0 KB
ID:	560  

Last edited by stefan : May 8th, 2013 at 09:45 AM.
  #3  
Old May 9th, 2013, 08:14 AM
ayorofrance ayorofrance is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 430
Default

Hi Stefan,

Thanks for your response.

Perhaps there are two problems then... the product you've listed above has not made it into the store... although I do have a category for that brand...

For the brand names with & - e.g. D&G - none of the links work...

This is also true for the other shop mentioned in my PM to Eric, which does not have national characters in the url...

Cheers,

Anders
__________________
WordPress Security - Is your WordPress secure? Get our FREE checklist and find out.

Easy-Email - Access ALL your email accounts with one login & synchronize automatically on all your computers.
  #4  
Old May 9th, 2013, 09:49 AM
stefan stefan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,901
Default

There seems to be a problem with products that have a brand name with & (like D&G) in the landing page URL.

The first D&G in the landing page URL converts to D?G after redirection.

For example this is how the landing page URL is provided to us in the datafeed for product D&G DD8063 502/13 Solglasgon

https://track.adtraction.com/t/t?a=660258641&as=SITE_ID&t=2&tk=1& url=http://www.smartbuyglasses.se/solglasgon/D&G/D&G-DD8063-502-13-63047.html....

This is how we have the landing page URL in our database with all the & occurrences converted into &

https://track.adtraction.com/t/t?a=660258641&as=SITE_ID&t=2&tk=1&url=http://www.smartbuyglasses.se/solglasgon/D&G/D&G-DD8063-502-13-63047.html....

This is after redirection

http://www.smartbuyglasses.se/solglasgon/D?G/D&G-DD8063-502-13-63047.html....

Last edited by stefan : May 9th, 2013 at 05:52 PM.
  #5  
Old May 9th, 2013, 06:09 PM
ayorofrance ayorofrance is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 430
Default

So what does this mean?

Is this a bug in the feed or in datafeedr?

Or is there something I can do?

This seems to be a problem with the two merchants I have on Adtraction, but the similar setup with merchants on other networks (webgains, tradedoubler) work fine... it's basically the same merchant but in different countries...

Thanks for your help!

Anders
__________________
WordPress Security - Is your WordPress secure? Get our FREE checklist and find out.

Easy-Email - Access ALL your email accounts with one login & synchronize automatically on all your computers.
  #6  
Old May 9th, 2013, 06:11 PM
ayorofrance ayorofrance is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 430
Default

Or is it a problem with the affiliate networks redirection?
__________________
WordPress Security - Is your WordPress secure? Get our FREE checklist and find out.

Easy-Email - Access ALL your email accounts with one login & synchronize automatically on all your computers.
  #7  
Old May 9th, 2013, 06:23 PM
stefan stefan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,901
Default

We don't have any control over the redirection process that occurs when clicking on an affiliate link.

So as far as I can tell it looks like a network's redirection problem.

Last edited by stefan : May 9th, 2013 at 06:32 PM.
  #8  
Old May 9th, 2013, 06:29 PM
ayorofrance ayorofrance is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 430
Default

Excellent - thanks...
__________________
WordPress Security - Is your WordPress secure? Get our FREE checklist and find out.

Easy-Email - Access ALL your email accounts with one login & synchronize automatically on all your computers.
  #9  
Old May 9th, 2013, 06:45 PM
ayorofrance ayorofrance is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 430
Default

Hi Stefan,

The problem with "glasögon" is that with the feed coming from the merchant?

Cheers,

Anders
__________________
WordPress Security - Is your WordPress secure? Get our FREE checklist and find out.

Easy-Email - Access ALL your email accounts with one login & synchronize automatically on all your computers.
  #10  
Old May 10th, 2013, 12:12 AM
stefan stefan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,901
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ayorofrance View Post

The problem with "glasögon" is that with the feed coming from the merchant?
We're still looking into this.
  #11  
Old May 10th, 2013, 12:47 PM
stefan stefan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,901
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ayorofrance View Post
The problem with "glasögon" is that with the feed coming from the merchant?
This has been fixed on our end.
  #12  
Old May 11th, 2013, 05:51 AM
ayorofrance ayorofrance is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 430
Default

Excellent - thanks!

It turned out there was a problem with the merchants prices in the Danish feed too...

Everything's fixed now :-)

Thanks for your ever great support!

Anders
__________________
WordPress Security - Is your WordPress secure? Get our FREE checklist and find out.

Easy-Email - Access ALL your email accounts with one login & synchronize automatically on all your computers.
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Product Names not showing in comparison set mfirth Problems 11 September 13th, 2011 07:31 PM
Product names with quotes ddandy Problems 4 June 1st, 2011 11:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.