Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Questions
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 4th, 2013, 08:49 AM
macfink macfink is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 685
Default filter by size

Hi Eric,

I dont know if this is possible, but i would like to filter by size via my stores.

I know that Google shopping insists on merchants having a size field in the datafeed now. Is there a size field in my merchants feeds from webgains uk?

If there is a field how would i use it to filter is one merchant uses a S for small, and then another merchant uses the word small for sizing?
__________________
ID 30949
Website:
http://www.freakfish.co.uk/
  #2  
Old February 4th, 2013, 08:57 AM
stefan stefan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,901
Default

Which merchants you're referring to?
  #3  
Old February 4th, 2013, 09:00 AM
macfink macfink is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 685
Default

All the merchants in my store. Can you look, or shall i copy all of them here?
__________________
ID 30949
Website:
http://www.freakfish.co.uk/
  #4  
Old February 4th, 2013, 09:44 AM
stefan stefan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,901
Default

Webgains indeed provides a separate datafeed field for size.

However that field is not used by your Webgains merchants - at least not by the main ones I checked like Bench, Boardwise, Rip101, Shore, Surfdome...

Currently that size field is also not processed by Datafeedr.

I've added a todo to process the size field in addition to colour, gender and fabric fields. If any of these fields is used by the merchant the information will be available as tag.
  #5  
Old February 7th, 2013, 05:56 PM
stefan stefan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5,901
Default

We now process the following 4 fields for Webgains: size, colour, gender and fabric.

If any of these fields is used by the merchant you can find that information back in the product tags.
  #6  
Old February 28th, 2013, 08:55 AM
macfink macfink is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 685
Default

Hi Stephen,

Thanks for this. I would like to get this implemented as soon as possible. I have a question, how do i get round this.

If Merchant A uses size small and in the data they use 'S'
Merchant B uses Size small and in the data the use 'Small'

How do i get the filter to use both as the same option?
__________________
ID 30949
Website:
http://www.freakfish.co.uk/
  #7  
Old February 28th, 2013, 09:05 AM
macfink macfink is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 685
Default

Also how would i implement this. I see this video here, but its based on price ect http://www.datafeedr.com/videos/?vid...rc=yt#videotop
__________________
ID 30949
Website:
http://www.freakfish.co.uk/
  #8  
Old February 28th, 2013, 09:29 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

You can create 2 subscriptions, one that subscribes to products tagged with small and one that subscribes to products tagged with s.
  #9  
Old March 1st, 2013, 10:20 AM
macfink macfink is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 685
Default

So what is the whole process to create the filter by size? Have you got any videos?

Also whats the subscription thing? I think i have done this sort of thing before but totally forgot

Is it a similar process to filter by price, like here?

http://www.freakfish.co.uk/mens-vans...77200002669025
__________________
ID 30949
Website:
http://www.freakfish.co.uk/
  #10  
Old March 1st, 2013, 10:28 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

Are you referring to setting up size filters on your site or in the Factory?

Eric
  #11  
Old March 1st, 2013, 10:37 AM
macfink macfink is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 685
Default

Yes, thats right. But want to know how to implement this, im a bit confused.
__________________
ID 30949
Website:
http://www.freakfish.co.uk/
  #12  
Old March 1st, 2013, 10:51 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

I've written an extensive tutorial here: http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3853

I would replace the "color" filter with "size" from that example for your purposes.

However, since "S" is only 1 character, MySQL doesn't index single characters therefore the search for a single character word in the product's information will fail.

Eric
  #13  
Old March 1st, 2013, 11:27 AM
macfink macfink is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric View Post

However, since "S" is only 1 character, MySQL doesn't index single characters therefore the search for a single character word in the product's information will fail.

Eric
Ok, so i just write small instead of 's' in the drop down?
__________________
ID 30949
Website:
http://www.freakfish.co.uk/
  #14  
Old March 1st, 2013, 11:30 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Yes, that's correct.
  #15  
Old March 8th, 2013, 05:10 AM
macfink macfink is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric View Post
Hi,

I've written an extensive tutorial here: http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3853

I would replace the "color" filter with "size" from that example for your purposes.

However, since "S" is only 1 character, MySQL doesn't index single characters therefore the search for a single character word in the product's information will fail.

Eric
Hi Eric,

I have started it off

<ul>
<?php if (@$_GET['word']) { ?>

<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='-word']">[X] Remove Size filter</a></li>

<?php } else { ?>

<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='word=Extra Small']">XSmall</a></li>
<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='word=XS']">XSmall</a></li>
<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='word=Small']">Small</a></li>
<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='word=S']">Small</a></li>
<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='word=MS']">Medium Short</a></li>
<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='word=Medium Short]">Medium Short</a></li>

<?php } ?>
</ul>

Wont there be 2 of every size listed via the websites drop down filter?

Extra Small']">XSmall
XS']">XSmall

Is there any way i can see what my merchants are listing their size attributes as. If they are all uniform, there's no need to add the extra. I think for Google shopping the size fields have to be uniform, so all merchants are using the same field.

Let me know before i go ahead with this
__________________
ID 30949
Website:
http://www.freakfish.co.uk/
  #16  
Old March 8th, 2013, 10:30 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

You can do something like this:

HTML Code:
<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='word=\"Extra Small\"|XS']">XSmall</a></li>
<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='word=Small|S']">Small</a></li>
<li><a href="[server.url type='fullpage' query='word=\"Medium Short\"|MS']">Medium Short</a></li>
There's 2 things going on there:

There's an OR operator being used: word=Small|S

There's also a phrasal search, too: word=\"Extra Small\"|XS

This would work for you except for one thing, MySQL by default only indexes words of 4 characters or more. Words of 3 characters or less are ignored. So in this example (and in your code) XS, S and MS will be ignored by MySQL.

You can ask your web host to decrease the minumum length of the word MySQL indexes however this will increase the size of your database as more words (the most common ones such as an, the, and, it, is, on, in, etc...) will be indexed.

Eric
  #17  
Old April 22nd, 2013, 09:41 AM
macfink macfink is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefan View Post

I've added a todo to process the size field in addition to colour, gender and fabric fields. If any of these fields is used by the merchant the information will be available as tag.
I'm trying to get my merchants to use these fields, as i believe it will add value to the website.

However, what i can see is the sizing field in the tag?

Take jeans, theres a tag inch, but i cant see what inch?

http://factory3.datafeedr.com/feeder...17&cat=1081961

All i want to do is filter buy size, then colour if i can get the sizing filter to work
__________________
ID 30949
Website:
http://www.freakfish.co.uk/
  #18  
Old April 22nd, 2013, 09:50 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

We're looking into this.
  #19  
Old April 22nd, 2013, 11:40 AM
macfink macfink is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 685
Default

Thanks for this.

I really hope i can get this nailed. I think all the merchants will use the sizing and colour attribute in their datafeeds. They have to for Google shopping, so the data must be provided for affiliates as well, especially if its requested.

This functionality would provide the user with a website which has value. Today i wanted to buy some jeans, i thought i would use my own website. It took me ages to find a merchant that had my size in stock. If it wasn't my website, and wasn't getting a commission i would have left the website because i found it frustrating.

I want my website to be a place where people can read reviews about products http://www.freakfish.co.uk/oneill-su...etsuit-review/ and find a store where they can easily search products they want to buy.

At the moments i'm seeing that the sales are mainly coming through organic listings of the products, not many are from searching the website. If i could combine both, this would make me rich and i can retire on my yacht i have yet to buy. lol
__________________
ID 30949
Website:
http://www.freakfish.co.uk/
  #20  
Old April 28th, 2013, 09:15 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

Size information is now available in the product descriptions.

Eric
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you filter by size urbanlymedia Questions 2 November 18th, 2012 04:32 PM
Brand Filter - old brands still in the filter rickagter Questions 2 September 20th, 2012 09:43 AM
Size shoespecialists Questions 3 August 4th, 2012 09:57 AM
'Remove Price filter' like brand filter Giftoly Questions 1 January 20th, 2012 10:48 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.