Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Questions
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 18th, 2013, 07:19 AM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default Products on part of the home page

Hi Eric,
This is our new theme: http://themes.tielabs.com/?theme=jarida
If you scroll to the bottom, you will see a scrolling box and a banner ad going across the page horizontally. In theory, the theme allows me to input HTML code into these sections if I want to place an ad in there, but these sections are not really widgetized in the same way that the sidebar is. Is it possible for me to put some store products in there instead of just in the sidebar? I want 2 rows of store products going across the page horizontally.
Thank you.
  #2  
Old September 18th, 2013, 08:03 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

I'm not sure how you would integrate products into the horizontal scrolling area at the bottom of the page.

If you know the proper HTML markup, then you simply need to create a new Custom View in the Factory, add a Product list module to the view and then add the necessary HTML to structure the data.

However if it's generated via JavaScript, it might be even trickier.

Eric
  #3  
Old September 18th, 2013, 08:37 AM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

That's the problem. I don't know the proper HTML markup. I thought you would help me with that. In the sidebar, the markup is created by your widget, right? So, how would I know it?
  #4  
Old September 18th, 2013, 08:46 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

The proper HTML is dictated by your theme, not by Datafeedr. That is the problem, I don't know what the proper HTML markup is for the slider section at the bottom of that theme.

But the thing to know besides knowing the HTML required is how to embed store elements into your theme when a widget is not available. In this case you will use shortcodes.

Here are some examples of shortcodes: http://www.datafeedr.com/docs/item/185

You will need to use the PHP version (at the bottom of the page) and embed the PHP code into your theme's template file in the right place. I'm not sure what the right place is because that is completely dependent on your theme.

So basically, you will create a new Custom View or Widget, add a Product list module to the view, add the required HTML to format the slider as your theme requires and then using the shortcodes embed that widget into your template file.

Eric
  #5  
Old September 18th, 2013, 10:40 AM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

OK, so I created a widget. Now, I have to add the correct PHP tag into my HTML input field? So if I use this shortcode: <?php echo datafeedr_tag('widget/my-custom-widget'); ?>
I assume I have to insert the name of my widget into it? What is the name of my new Widget?
  #6  
Old September 18th, 2013, 11:05 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

Now you can access the widget via a shortcode in your templates like this:

PHP Code:
<?php echo datafeedr_tag('widget/home-page-bottom'); ?>
Eric
  #7  
Old September 18th, 2013, 12:16 PM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

That did not work. Nothing appeared. I have a feeling it wants just straight HTML.
  #8  
Old September 18th, 2013, 12:27 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

It worked for me. I imported your store into my test site and placed <?php echo datafeedr_tag('widget/home-page-bottom'); ?> into my theme's footer.php file and it output 10 products right into the footer.

I would make sure you are editing the right file as well as ensure that no caching plugin is running on your site or that your site's cache is cleared after every code change that you make.

Eric
  #9  
Old September 18th, 2013, 01:05 PM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

Eric,
When you say "footer", you mean the actual footer? I was talking about the Home Page Builder. There is a section in the theme's settings called Home Page Builder. That's what I was talking about.
  #10  
Old September 18th, 2013, 01:08 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

I was talking about my theme's footer.php file.

However if you are using some type of GUI page builder, you'll need to ask your theme developer how you are able to load PHP into a section of your page.

By default, loading PHP via a GUI page builder is probably going to be disabled for security reasons.

Eric
  #11  
Old September 18th, 2013, 01:12 PM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

OK, I"m trying to replicate what you're talking about, but without success. Where exactly did you enter that shortcode?
  #12  
Old September 18th, 2013, 01:13 PM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

Yes, I think that's what's happening. I need to enter the code via GUI. That's why I think it needs to be HTML, not PHP.
  #13  
Old September 18th, 2013, 02:07 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diabolique View Post
OK, I"m trying to replicate what you're talking about, but without success. Where exactly did you enter that shortcode?
I put it in the theme's footer.php file however our themes are probably very, very different.

Quote:
Originally Posted by diabolique View Post
Yes, I think that's what's happening. I need to enter the code via GUI. That's why I think it needs to be HTML, not PHP.
I would ask the theme developer how you can get some PHP into your template files.

Eric
  #14  
Old September 18th, 2013, 02:51 PM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

OK, I'll try
  #15  
Old September 22nd, 2013, 08:29 AM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

Eric, here is what the developer had to say:

That is not a wordpress shortcode it is a php statements .. theme banners areas supports shortcodes which be something like

to add a php code you need to edit theme php files and add the code manually in it.
  #16  
Old September 22nd, 2013, 08:42 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

That's what I thought. Ask the developer what theme file to edit.

Eric
  #17  
Old September 24th, 2013, 09:18 AM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

Here is what he says:

edit index.php file in the main theme folder and add the code above
<?php get_footer(); ?>
  #18  
Old September 24th, 2013, 09:24 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diabolique View Post
Here is what he says:

edit index.php file in the main theme folder and add the code above
<?php get_footer(); ?>
That sounds about right. Did you do that?
  #19  
Old September 24th, 2013, 02:56 PM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

Yes. I placed the tag: <?php echo datafeedr_tag('widget/home-page-bottom'); ?> just where he said. But nothing happened. No change whatsoever. What am I dong wrong?
  #20  
Old September 24th, 2013, 03:03 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

I'm sorry but I really can't say why it's not working. I imported your store into my test site, placed this code <?php echo datafeedr_tag('widget/home-page-bottom'); ?> in my theme's footer.php file and it works fine for me...

It's not an issue with Datafeedr. I'm guessing the code is not being inserted into the right place in your index.php file...

Eric
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Get products on home page jimmycataldo Questions 1 July 22nd, 2012 01:18 PM
Products on home page macfink Questions 13 April 14th, 2012 10:17 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.