Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Questions
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 18th, 2011, 04:03 AM
jordand1 jordand1 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Default Drop down categories in Store menu

Hi,

Is it possible to hover the mouse over the store button and a drop down menu of all parent categories are shown horizontally with the subcategories underneath each parent?

Thanks
  #2  
Old September 18th, 2011, 08:37 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

THREAD MOVED TO 'QUESTIONS' FORUM.
  #3  
Old September 18th, 2011, 08:40 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

You can follow the instructions here but you will need to add a parent link to the entire code like this:

HTML Code:
<ul><li><a href="/store">Store</a>
[category.list id='dfparent' before='<ul id="nav">' after='</ul>']
<li>
  <a href="[category.link]" title="[category.name]">[category.name]</a>
  [category.list id='dfchild' before='<ul>' after='</ul>']
    <li>
      <a href="[category.link]" title="[category.name]">[category.name]</a>
      [category.repeat id='dfchild']
    </li>
  [/category.list]
</li>
[/category.list]
</li></ul>
  #4  
Old September 18th, 2011, 03:25 PM
jordand1 jordand1 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Default

thanks for the reply - I'll look at trying to implement this soon.

Another thought - Are you able to have each parent category set as a permalink in wordpress and then use the code you have supplied to show all sub-categories when hovering over the parent permalink?

Thanks
  #5  
Old September 18th, 2011, 07:19 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jordand1 View Post
Another thought - Are you able to have each parent category set as a permalink in wordpress and then use the code you have supplied to show all sub-categories when hovering over the parent permalink?
Hi

I'm not sure I understand completely what you mean but I think these instructions will work for you.

Eric
  #6  
Old September 19th, 2011, 01:35 PM
jordand1 jordand1 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Hi Eric,

Let me offer some clarification to my question:

When using wordpress and datafeedr a "store" tab is created in wordpress as a permalink. You can then use the datafeedr plugin to import your categories.

I was wondering rather than have the "store" button is it possible to have a button at the top of the page for each parent category (replacing the store button)?

Then once you have a list of parent categories running horizontally across the top of the page I would like to "hover" the mouse over these parent categories to "reveal" the sub-categories.

I hope this adds further clarification?
Thanks
  #7  
Old September 19th, 2011, 02:29 PM
jordand1 jordand1 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Default

another example of what i want is found on one of the tutorial videos where the store page is shown in the permalinks and next to it is the sale page.

Rather than a sale page i would like all parent categories
  #8  
Old September 19th, 2011, 05:17 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi
Quote:
Originally Posted by jordand1 View Post
I was wondering rather than have the "store" button is it possible to have a button at the top of the page for each parent category (replacing the store button)?

Then once you have a list of parent categories running horizontally across the top of the page I would like to "hover" the mouse over these parent categories to "reveal" the sub-categories.
Yes, this is possible. This is exactly what I outlined in this thread: http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/showthread.php?p=16263

Eric
  #9  
Old September 21st, 2011, 01:30 PM
jordand1 jordand1 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Wink

Hi Eric,

Thanks for your help on this - just added the code and it does exactly what I wanted (and i think it looks great)!!!
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help on Drop down Menu for Brand filter jdrom Questions 3 March 29th, 2012 07:17 PM
No drop down menu in new factory marcaustin Problems 15 March 10th, 2011 02:36 PM
Add drop down menus for store categories ccgmark Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 13 January 28th, 2011 01:34 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.