Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Questions
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old September 24th, 2013, 03:51 PM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

You inserted it into footer.php? Why don't you try inserting into index.php, the same way I did, and tell me the result.
  #22  
Old September 24th, 2013, 03:54 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diabolique View Post
You inserted it into footer.php? Why don't you try inserting into index.php, the same way I did, and tell me the result.
Just tried and it still works...
  #23  
Old September 24th, 2013, 07:27 PM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

Well, I have to get to the bottom of this. We are talking about index.php under the THEME/Jarida folder, right? Not the main WP index.php?

If it works for you, there must be a reason it doesn't work for me. What else can I try?
  #24  
Old September 24th, 2013, 07:33 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diabolique View Post
Well, I have to get to the bottom of this. We are talking about index.php under the THEME/Jarida folder, right? Not the main WP index.php?

If it works for you, there must be a reason it doesn't work for me. What else can I try?
I don't really know. I would make sure you've clicked the [Update Products and Settings] button on your site so you are for sure the new view has been added to your site.

Other than that, you might need more guidance from the theme developer you purchased the theme from.

Eric
  #25  
Old September 25th, 2013, 01:36 PM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

Eric,
This time it works, but the formatting is all wrong. Instead of a nice row of thumbnails across the bottom, I get one column of giant images. See attached screen grab.
Dima
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Formatting1.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	122.5 KB
ID:	598  
  #26  
Old September 25th, 2013, 01:38 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi Dima,

Great! To fix the formatting, go here: The Factory > Your Store > VIEWS > WIDGETS > Home Page Bottom > View menu > View Properties

Under CSS ID, add the word: view

Save and click the [Update Settings Only] button on your site.

Eric
  #27  
Old September 25th, 2013, 02:47 PM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

OK, that's closer, but there are still formatting problems. I really only want one row of 4 products. Plus, the buttons and description are not lining up correctly. Is my theme's CSS interfering with datafeedr? Please see attached screengrab.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Formatting2.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	187.3 KB
ID:	599  
  #28  
Old September 25th, 2013, 02:50 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

If you just want 1 row, you need to set the Products per page to 4 here: The Factory > Your Store > VIEWS > WIDGETS > Home Page Bottom > Product list module > Settings ()

I would also suggest you change the Product list template from the Template 2 code you are using to Template 1. Template 1 (with 4 columns) will format the products nicely on your page.

Eric
  #29  
Old September 25th, 2013, 06:05 PM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

Eric,
Thanks. That actually works very well: http://diaboliquemagazine.com/
Two questions:
Since the box surrounding each item is so wide, I think I'd like to fit 5 products in there, but when I specify that in (Settings), the fifth product goes on a second row. How can I have 5 products on one row?

Also, if you look at my sidebar, you will see the Advanced Search Widget, but there is no search field. Is that the theme's CSS interfering? What can I do about it?
Thank you for all your help.
D
  #30  
Old September 25th, 2013, 06:07 PM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

One more question...
Just above the row of products, I need to put a header that says, STORE. Should I just insert the proper HTML tags into index.php manually?
  #31  
Old September 25th, 2013, 06:28 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi
Quote:
Originally Posted by diabolique View Post
Since the box surrounding each item is so wide, I think I'd like to fit 5 products in there, but when I specify that in (Settings), the fifth product goes on a second row. How can I have 5 products on one row?
In your product list module change this:
HTML Code:
<div class="t1 col4">
To this:
HTML Code:
<div class="t1 col5">
Quote:
Originally Posted by diabolique View Post
Also, if you look at my sidebar, you will see the Advanced Search Widget, but there is no search field. Is that the theme's CSS interfering? What can I do about it?
I don't see that...

Quote:
Originally Posted by diabolique View Post
One more question...
Just above the row of products, I need to put a header that says, STORE. Should I just insert the proper HTML tags into index.php manually?
Yes, that would be fine to put it there.

Eric
  #32  
Old September 25th, 2013, 06:41 PM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

This is what I'm seeing in my sidebar: see attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Formatting3.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	268.8 KB
ID:	600  
  #33  
Old September 25th, 2013, 07:12 PM
diabolique diabolique is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 46
Default

When I change to code <div class="t1 col4"> to <div class="t1 col5">, it creates bad formatting problems with product images. Please see attachment.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Formatting4.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	207.0 KB
ID:	601  
  #34  
Old September 25th, 2013, 07:54 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

The reason your search form fields aren't showing up is because your theme has set them to not show up. You can try adding this to your Custom CSS:

Code:
#wdgt_as input {
border: 1px solid gray;
}
Regarding the images, you could try this Custom CSS:

Code:
#view .col5 .thmb, #view .col5 img {
max-width: 100px;
max-height: 100px;
min-height: 100px;
}
Eric
  #35  
Old March 19th, 2014, 09:17 AM
bombpetite bombpetite is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 53
Default Embedding Products in to Homepage

Hi Eric,

I think my issue might be related to this thread.

I am trying to embed hand-picked products in to the homepage http://bombpetite.com/ like on the screenshot attached.

But as you can see from the screenshot it doesn't work (even though it works fine on other pages).

What I'm trying to do... I've created a HTML three column grid. Placed it in one of the theme-generated homepage sections. And now want to insert a product into each column of the grid. Then style it to my liking.

Can you please advise?

Thanks,

Eugene
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled.GIF
Views:	112
Size:	154.5 KB
ID:	673  
  #36  
Old March 19th, 2014, 09:21 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi,

Your theme needs to use the_content() instead of the_excerpt() function when displaying blog info on the front page.

You'll need to edit your theme and make that change. If you're not sure, you should ask the theme developer how to change your front page to show full content instead of the post excerpt.

Eric
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Get products on home page jimmycataldo Questions 1 July 22nd, 2012 01:18 PM
Products on home page macfink Questions 13 April 14th, 2012 10:17 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.