Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Questions
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 21st, 2011, 01:16 PM
kaje kaje is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
Default sorting by keyword

I know you can create a widget that sorts by keyword however I wanted to have a drop down box that would allow the visitor to select from within the page and not on the sidebar.

For example I have a page that has all dog checks. There are doberman checks and Labrador checks and pug checks etc. The all are displayed in a grid format.

I'd like the visitor to have the opportunity to select from a drop down sort box "labradors" then only have the labrador checks be displayed instead of showing all the dog breed checks.

How/can this be done?
  #2  
Old July 21st, 2011, 02:28 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

Yes, this can be done. You just put the code that would appear in a widget into your Category page view.

Eric
  #3  
Old July 21st, 2011, 03:10 PM
kaje kaje is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
Default

Thanks Eric.

Two other questions then. First, for a breed like Labradors there are products with different title keywords like Lab, Labs, Labradors. Is there a way to set multiple keywords to one search parameter?

Second...how do I take the list code that would be in a widget and convert it to the drop down menu in the category page view?
  #4  
Old July 21st, 2011, 03:26 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaje View Post
First, for a breed like Labradors there are products with different title keywords like Lab, Labs, Labradors. Is there a way to set multiple keywords to one search parameter?
This is an unrelated question. Please post this issue in a new thread as per posting rules.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaje View Post
Second...how do I take the list code that would be in a widget and convert it to the drop down menu in the category page view?
You could just add a text module to your CATEGORY PAGE and then display the widget of your choice in that text module by linking to the widget like this:

[DFR:widget/my-custom-widget]

Read more about using the shortcode here: http://www.datafeedr.com/docs/item/185

Eric
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keyword and description inheritance ayorofrance Feature Requests 0 January 19th, 2011 01:10 PM
Problem with keyword search? ayorofrance Problems 1 January 17th, 2011 09:04 AM
Query Filter excluding keyword ayorofrance Questions 2 January 16th, 2011 11:54 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.