Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Tips, Tricks & Tutorials
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 27th, 2011, 11:18 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default Speed up your store!

In version 3.4, we focused on optimizing the performance of your store. With that brought 2 options that can greatly increase the speed at which your store pages load. You can now cache your CSS file so the browser can store and serve it from its memory and you can also have all of your store pages cached. Cached pages get cleared after each update so you don't have to worry about cached pages being displayed if you've made changes to your store in the Factory. On top of the caching, we've also optimized database queries so that they perform much better.

Below I've outlined how to do 2 things that will improve performance of your store:

1. Store product images and CSS file locally
2. Cache all store pages

There are, however, 2 caveats:

1. If a merchant doesn't allow the downloading of their images, they can't be stored on your server (ie. locally).
2. If you have any views which display products randomly, those views will not be cached as you can not return random products from a cached view.

Store product images and CSS file locally

1. Go here: WordPress Admin Area > Tools > Datafeedr > Directories
2. Click the [Set Up] button to create the required directories on your server (if all directories are not already set up)
3. Go here: The Factory > Your Store > Your store > Store menu > URL Settings
4. Change the Product image field to %li
5. Change the Product thumbnail field to %lt
6. Change the CSS file field to %lc
7. Click the [Save] button
8. Go here: WordPress Admin Area > Tools > Datafeedr
9. Click the [Update Products and Settings] button

Here's a screenshot:




Cache all store pages

1. Go here: The Factory > Your Store > Your store > Store menu > Advanced Store Settings
2. Check the Allow view caching box.
3. Click the [Save] button
4. Go here: WordPress Admin Area > Tools > Datafeedr
5. Click the [Update Products and Settings] button

Here's a screenshot:



If you need more information or explanation, we've also covered how to store product images locally in this video: http://www.datafeedr.com/videos?vide...rc=yt#videotop

Eric
  #2  
Old December 7th, 2011, 09:16 AM
ayorofrance ayorofrance is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 430
Default

Hi Eric,

Great additions!

Are the store page caches stored on the file system on the server?

If so what is the location? (Just want to make sure I don't inadvertently include the location in backups).

Thanks!
__________________
WordPress Security - Is your WordPress secure? Get our FREE checklist and find out.

Easy-Email - Access ALL your email accounts with one login & synchronize automatically on all your computers.
  #3  
Old December 7th, 2011, 10:11 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayorofrance View Post
Are the store page caches stored on the file system on the server?

If so what is the location? (Just want to make sure I don't inadvertently include the location in backups).
Yes, they are stored in the file system. They are stored in the Temporary directory configured here: WordPress Admin Area > Tools > Datafeedr > Directories.

Eric
  #4  
Old December 8th, 2011, 09:00 AM
webnamescouk webnamescouk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 65
Default

I've just tested this on a store, but the css seems to not be caching?

edit: I see this is a new feature of the updated Datafeedr plugin, i should've updated it before trying it

Last edited by webnamescouk : December 8th, 2011 at 09:04 AM.
  #5  
Old February 27th, 2012, 06:13 AM
ayorofrance ayorofrance is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 430
Default

Quote:
There are, however, 2 caveats:

1. If a merchant doesn't allow the downloading of their images, they can't be stored on your server (ie. locally).
2. If you have any views which display products randomly, those views will not be cached as you can not return random products from a cached view.
I believe Number 2 is also true if you sort your categories by click thru... e.g. most popular...

In addition to these tips I'd recommend W3Total Cache and using the Content Distribution Network feature of this plugin.

It means that you can have all your product images pushed to a CDN like Amazon Cloudfront with very little work...

Another great option with W3Total Cache is the Cloudflare integration... you can get a free account with Cloudflare...

Just my two cents...
__________________
WordPress Security - Is your WordPress secure? Get our FREE checklist and find out.

Easy-Email - Access ALL your email accounts with one login & synchronize automatically on all your computers.
  #6  
Old March 3rd, 2012, 02:08 AM
SkemPab SkemPab is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Like webnamescouk I also tried and didnt read that it was for the updated version. I will test further tomorrow when I have more time, thanks look forward to this
  #7  
Old March 8th, 2012, 04:33 PM
lesljr lesljr is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 80
Default

how do we use the W3Total Cache Content Distribution Network feature
  #8  
Old March 8th, 2012, 04:36 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesljr View Post
how do we use the W3Total Cache Content Distribution Network feature
I don't know as I've not used it. That's a better question for the W3TC guys.

Eric
  #9  
Old March 11th, 2012, 12:53 PM
ayorofrance ayorofrance is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 430
Default

Hi lesljr,

I've done the following:

- Created an account with aws.amazon.com (Amazon Web Services) to use their cloudfront service. You can choose any of the other w3tc supported ones if you prefer.
- On the w3tc General Settings page enable CDN and choose Amazon Origin Pull (have not used Push - with pull everything is automatically pull to the CDN as needed).
- On the w3tc settings page I have created 10 CNAMES (cdn0.xxx.com to cdn9.xxx.com) to use my own hostname and spread across multiple hosts for parallel download... 10 might be a bit much... you could probably get away with 5...
-- You need to:
--- create the cnames in your DNS editor on your hosting account
--- add the cnames to the Cloudfront distribution
--- enter the cnames in w3tc

And that's pretty much it...

For a bit more detail on creating cnames and etc. see these resources:
- http://support.maxcdn.com/pull-zone/...ion/wordpress/ (from MaxCDN)
- http://www.wpbeginner.com/plugins/ho...for-beginners/ (uses MaxCDN)
- http://www.freedomtarget.com/w3-tota...and-cloudfront

Sorry this is a bit brief... If you have any questions please ask and I will try to answer them...
__________________
WordPress Security - Is your WordPress secure? Get our FREE checklist and find out.

Easy-Email - Access ALL your email accounts with one login & synchronize automatically on all your computers.
  #10  
Old March 12th, 2012, 01:35 PM
lesljr lesljr is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 80
Default

thanks for the info. I'll take a look
  #11  
Old March 13th, 2012, 03:32 PM
lesljr lesljr is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 80
Default

how much does it cost?
  #12  
Old July 5th, 2012, 09:46 AM
daniel_28 daniel_28 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 63
Default

Store ID: 38503
Website URL: www.fitliving.nl
URL to page in question: www.fitliving.nl/shop


I have done the customizations as instructed above. But I have not seen any speed improvement yet...

I am still in my 30 days trial, but the speed of the store is a deal breaker for me.

The support is very good and the back-end works perfectly, but my visitors will not be waiting a few seconds for every page to load..
  #13  
Old July 5th, 2012, 10:03 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_28 View Post
I have done the customizations as instructed above. But I have not seen any speed improvement yet...
The thing that is taking a long time to load are the images from the merchant's site. The merchant has access controls on their images which prevent the images from being downloaded to your server ultimately allowing the images to be served quickly off of your server.

Here's the solution for this problem: http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/show...1487#post31487

Eric
  #14  
Old July 6th, 2012, 03:56 AM
daniel_28 daniel_28 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric View Post
The thing that is taking a long time to load are the images from the merchant's site. The merchant has access controls on their images which prevent the images from being downloaded to your server ultimately allowing the images to be served quickly off of your server.

Here's the solution for this problem: http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/show...1487#post31487

Eric
Ok, so the fact that this has not improved my store speed, has nothing to do with the fact that I changed my URL settings before..? Because I renamed "STORE" -> "SHOP" as shop is more common in my language..

But now, after 'Set Up All Directories' in The Directories area within the Datafeedr/Wordpress admin, I see the word 'STORE' in URL and PATH.. Shouldn't this be SHOP because the location is of my store is www.fitliving.nl/shop...???
  #15  
Old July 6th, 2012, 08:45 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_28 View Post
Ok, so the fact that this has not improved my store speed, has nothing to do with the fact that I changed my URL settings before..? Because I renamed "STORE" -> "SHOP" as shop is more common in my language..
No, but you do not make the change properly. On your Default Category Page view you still have this [product.image tag='1']. It should be this [product.image tag='1' direct='1'].
  #16  
Old July 12th, 2012, 07:07 AM
ayorofrance ayorofrance is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 430
Default

Hi Daniel,

Sorry for not being clear: it's this post (further up this thread).

Hosting in main land europe as opposed to? US? UK?

All my sites are actually hosted in US even if most of them are european. Having said that you should get slightly fast load times if your hosting is in Europe (and your site is for Europe too).

Some people speculate that Google also likes if your site is hosted in the same country as your site targets.... I have no idea if that is true, but it sounds plausible...

My home page (DF store page with 9 products):


Category page (12 products):


Category page (48 products):


Note that - especially on shared hosting - you need to run the tests a few times...

The speeds shown above are the optimal times... i.e. this is what you could get if you have steady traffic to your site.

There are many factors that influence these results:
Shared hosting: the load on your server.
Traffic: If you don't have a lot of traffic your site will 'fall asleep' and the first request takes longer because stuff that might have been swapped out has to be reloaded etc.
Amazon CDN response times.
Network connection quality and load between the visitor and your hosting site.

... just to mention some...

So your end user will only see .7 sec load time if everything is running smoothly... but you know that you've done everything you can to squeeze the most out of your resources...

If you go for a more upmarket host you will see better and more constant response times...

What you need to do:
- Make sure your site is speed optimized with Datafeedr, e.g. store images, css etc locally if you can
- Make use of W3 Total Cache (or another caching plugin if you prefer)
- Make use of a CDN
- Make use of Cloudflare

That's your key to success...
__________________
WordPress Security - Is your WordPress secure? Get our FREE checklist and find out.

Easy-Email - Access ALL your email accounts with one login & synchronize automatically on all your computers.
  #17  
Old July 17th, 2012, 09:56 AM
daniel_28 daniel_28 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 63
Default

Hi,

I have found an excellent tuyorial to use CDN cloudfront with W3 total cache: http://www.doitwithwp.com/set-up-w3-...loudfront-cdn/

@ ayorofranche. Did you enable FEED cache?

Also page cache and Minify is giving me trouble according to W3 Total Cache: "The setting change(s) made either invalidate the cached data or modify the behavior of the site. Empty the now to provide a consistent user experience."

Did you also experience this?

thanks
regards,
Daniel
  #18  
Old July 17th, 2012, 12:05 PM
daniel_28 daniel_28 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_28 View Post
Hi,

I have found an excellent tuyorial to use CDN cloudfront with W3 total cache: http://www.doitwithwp.com/set-up-w3-...loudfront-cdn/

@ ayorofranche. Did you enable FEED cache?

Also page cache and Minify is giving me trouble according to W3 Total Cache: "The setting change(s) made either invalidate the cached data or modify the behavior of the site. Empty the now to provide a consistent user experience."

Did you also experience this?

thanks
regards,
Daniel
for some reason al the upgrades and work with CDN has slowed down my site. It even has increased my page size. How can you check if Amazon cloudfront it working the way it is supposed to work?
  #19  
Old July 17th, 2012, 06:25 PM
ayorofrance ayorofrance is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_28 View Post
@ ayorofranche. Did you enable FEED cache?
Don't think so... but I'm sure you can do that...

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniel_28 View Post
Also page cache and Minify is giving me trouble according to W3 Total Cache: "The setting change(s) made either invalidate the cached data or modify the behavior of the site. Empty the now to provide a consistent user experience."

Did you also experience this?
This just means you've made changes to the settings, which require you to empty the cache...
__________________
WordPress Security - Is your WordPress secure? Get our FREE checklist and find out.

Easy-Email - Access ALL your email accounts with one login & synchronize automatically on all your computers.
  #20  
Old December 12th, 2012, 04:06 PM
thk1976 thk1976 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 232
Default

Worked great for me much better load speed on www.billigjumpsuit.dk
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to speed up my site jdrom Questions 3 July 4th, 2011 10:15 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.