Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Problems
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 29th, 2012, 01:43 AM
markz markz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Default Changing Store Home Page FROM Site Front Page

Hi Eric:

Store ID: 35375
Website URL: http://fitforlifeatlast.com
URL to page in question: http://fitforlifeatlast.com/store

I had a brainfart this morning ... before I began breaking things, all was good:
my store was (properly) set up with a static front page (home), a blog page (displays new posts), and a datafeedr store home page ("store"). I decided I wanted to make the datafeedr store home page display on my website front page; so I followed the instructions you've provided in other posts, and all went well.

THEN: I un-decided ... I wanted to return to my prior configuration.
Somewhere in the process, I must have screwed the pooch.

For the most part, my site is working, but: you'll see "store" on the NavBar, but in the factory, I've had to set it to "store2" in the frontpage URL setting. If I use "store" in the factory setting, clicking on "store" in the NavBar directs me back to the website home page.

Somewhere there must be a redirect, and I don't know where to look ...

I have made so many changes to config settings in WP I can't say for sure which is the offender ... but I kinda recall that before I began changing anything this morning, that in my Custom Menu settings, the item "store" was not a page (type) but a custom URL ...

Since the site is working, I'm not gonna tamper any more tonight, but wanted to get this off to you before I forget any more of what I've done (!!)

When you get some time, can you take a look and see what might need to be changed ...
Let me know if you need access into the WPAdmin, I'll PM the info to you.

(I've deactivated most plugins, including Yoast SEO; I understand there's an option in his SEO for prettifying URLs that can cause conflicts. I'll leave the plugin deactivated till I hear back from you ...)


Thanks!
(PS: Looks like I'm gonna need to do that subscription upgrade sooner rather than later ... not that I need another store right now, but you're seriously underpaid! I appreciate your help!)

markz
  #2  
Old January 29th, 2012, 09:31 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi
Quote:
Originally Posted by markz View Post
For the most part, my site is working, but: you'll see "store" on the NavBar, but in the factory, I've had to set it to "store2" in the frontpage URL setting. If I use "store" in the factory setting, clicking on "store" in the NavBar directs me back to the website home page.
What do you have configured here: WordPress Admin Area > Settings > Reading ?

Can you send a screenshot of that page?

Eric
  #3  
Old January 29th, 2012, 09:44 AM
markz markz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Default

Front Page is set to display 'static page'
Front Page = HOME
Posts Page = BLOG

I'll try importing the image:

  #4  
Old January 29th, 2012, 10:41 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

So do you want your store to be back at /store or do you want your store to be at /store2?

Also, do you want a link to the Store in the navbar? If so, what do you want it to say? Store? Store2?

Eric
  #5  
Old January 29th, 2012, 11:03 AM
markz markz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Default

Hi Eric:
I would like the store to be back at /store ... not /store2
and the NavBar should read store.

As it is now, the NavBar title is correct (store), but points to store2, which then loads the store, because I've got store2 as the url in the factory. (If I change factory url to store, clicking on the NavBar store link takes us to the home page).

I hope that's clear ... let me know if you need better clarification.

thanks,
markz
  #6  
Old January 29th, 2012, 11:05 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

Try changing store2 back to store in the Factory and update the link in your Navbar to go to /store and see what happens. If it still redirects, please let me know so I can see it live.

Eric
  #7  
Old January 29th, 2012, 11:32 AM
markz markz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Default

Eric:
I changed the factory url setting back to store;
updated dfr products & settings;

in the WP custom menu, the element 'store' is set to be a page: store.
(the permalink for 'store' is also 'store.')

pausing on the 'store' link in NavBar shows the target as /store (above the status bar).
clicking on the 'store' link in NavBar takes to homepage.


-- should the custom menu item for 'store' be a custom url instead of a page?

I won't tamper with the current (broken) settings till you have a chance to look ...

thanks!
markz

Last edited by markz : January 29th, 2012 at 11:33 AM.
  #8  
Old January 29th, 2012, 11:39 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

For me, all is working fine.

If I click the HOME link, I go here: http://fitforlifeatlast.com/

If I click the STORE link, I go here: http://fitforlifeatlast.com/store

Those pages are definitely different content, though at first glance they appear the same.

Eric
  #9  
Old January 29th, 2012, 12:01 PM
markz markz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Thumbs up

yeah, they're basically the same for the moment ... but the home page has "this is the home page" to help us differentiate it. (Later today the home page will become entirely different).

BUT: when I click on "store" in the NavBar, I am taken to the home page!
If I put this link in my address bar -- fitforlifeatlast.com/store -- I am taken to the home page!


Wanna trade computers?
maybe if I just clear my browser cache ...
yep that did it!

That was a seriously frustrating lesson ... good thing I'm a reasonably calm guy & don't have a howitzer at my disposal!

Thanks for all your help ... sorry to bug ya on a weekend!
markz

ps: Eric for Pres in 2012!
  #10  
Old January 29th, 2012, 12:03 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi
Quote:
Originally Posted by markz View Post
maybe if I just clear my browser cache ...
yep that did it!

That was a seriously frustrating lesson ...
If it's any consolation, I've been burned by caching so many times in the past...

Eric
  #11  
Old January 29th, 2012, 12:13 PM
markz markz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Default

thanks for saying so; it helps.

I may be a slow learner, but once I get something, I won't forget!

Lesson Leaned: any site behavior oddities: clear browser cache.
ASBO = CBC -- post on whiteboard!

thanks again
markz
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Page "This is the stores front page" marcaustin Questions 1 September 11th, 2011 10:17 AM
Changing font size on home page.... gutfeelboy Questions 3 June 28th, 2011 12:39 PM
All page links go to store front page tex22 Problems 10 April 20th, 2011 12:41 PM
having trouble w/ beta v3 changing default text on front page vittorii Problems 2 February 18th, 2011 01:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.