Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Tips, Tricks & Tutorials
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old June 17th, 2011, 02:15 PM
pennymoonchild pennymoonchild is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric View Post
Can you tell me what you have so far? What custom view(s) have you created and what shortcode are you embedding in your posts?

You want to make sure you have a category that contains all of the coupons. Let's say that category is called 'coupons'.

Then you want to create a new custom view that will display the coupons. Be sure to add a product list module to that view. Let's call that view 'merchant_coupons'.

Then you will have a short code that you will embed in a post like this:
[DFR:merchant_coupons?c=coupons&merchant=MyMerchant sName.com]
One more question. What would the code be to pull random products from a particular merchant. I would like to use this to display on my page for the merchants who do not have coupon codes. Thanks!
  #22  
Old June 17th, 2011, 02:32 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

You just need to configure the merchant_coupons custom view > product list module to display random products instead of how they are currently sorted. You can find this setting by clicking the settings icon ( ) for the product list module.

Eric
  #23  
Old June 17th, 2011, 03:16 PM
pennymoonchild pennymoonchild is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 6
Smile

Hi Eric. Maybe I didn't word it correctly. I am wanting to get all products from same merchant to display underneath my coupons on my wordpress page. I got this code to work:

[DFR:merchant_coupons?c=coupons&merchant=MyMerchant sName.com]

What I would like to know is what code would I use to display all products from that merchant after the coupons. Hope I explained it right. Thanks again.
  #24  
Old June 17th, 2011, 03:25 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

Just leave off the "c=coupons" part like this:

[DFR:merchant_coupons?merchant=MyMerchant sName.com]

Eric
  #25  
Old June 21st, 2011, 12:49 PM
julioz julioz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Default

My website is only for "coupons" how can I show the coupons without having a Product detail. I've already created different categories for my offers/ deals. My Store Connection Key is vjizwg2kf1y7vshq just in case you need it. Thanks
  #26  
Old June 21st, 2011, 12:58 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

Just set up your links so that they don't point to the "Product Details" page. You can do this by changing any link to a product from this:

[product.link]

To this:

[product.url]

Eric
  #27  
Old June 21st, 2011, 03:01 PM
julioz julioz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks Eric, I think I am doing something wrong. I have this error

Cannot download store data (curl_error)

[Technical details...]
  #28  
Old June 21st, 2011, 03:06 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by julioz View Post
Thanks Eric, I think I am doing something wrong. I have this error

Cannot download store data (curl_error)

[Technical details...]
That is unrelated. Please see this: http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4547
  #29  
Old June 21st, 2011, 04:08 PM
julioz julioz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks Eric, the error disappeared (I work with Hostgator)
How do you "Add your coupons to that category" step 2.
I would like to have the coupons display as image (as you showed in the video tutorials) and not as a text.
Thanks



Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric View Post
Here's how you can display a list of of coupons from the same merchant as a product on the product details page. This will require that coupons exist for that merchant in your store, of course.

The easiest way is to add your coupons to 1 category. There are other ways you could do this but I'll just cover the simplest method here.
  1. Create a new category and name it "Coupons".
  2. Add your coupons to that category.
  3. Create a new Custom View by going to VIEWS > CUSTOM VIEWS > Add a new view
  4. Name the view "coupons_from_single_merchant".
  5. Check the "Don't use layout for this view" checkbox. Your view's properties should look like this:
  6. Add a Product List module to the view and configure the Product List module like this:

    or using the following HTML code:
    HTML Code:
    <h2>Coupons</h2>
    
    [product.each]
      <p>
        <a href="[product.link]"><strong>[product.name]</strong></a>
        from <span style="color:#999;font-size:85%;font-style:italic;">[product.merchant]</span><br />
        [coupon.description]<br />
        <small>
          <strong>Code:</strong> [coupon.code]<br />
          <strong>Restrictions:</strong> [coupon.restrictions]<br />
          <strong>Begin Date:</strong> [coupon.begin]<br />
          <strong>End Date:</strong> [coupon.end]<br />
        </small>
      </p>
    [product.end]
  7. You can also limit the number of coupons to be displayed by modifying the modules settings. I'm limiting it to 3.
  8. Go to the VIEWS > PRODUCT DETAIL > Default view.
  9. Add a new Text module to your view.
  10. Paste the following text into the Text module's template area:
    Code:
    [DFR:coupons_from_single_merchant?c=coupons&amp;merchant=<?php echo $product->merchant; ?>]
    That basically says, "get the coupon template and display coupons from the category "Coupons" and only from the same merchant as this product".
  11. Save the module.
  12. Log into your blog's admin area and go to WordPress Admin Area > Tools > Datafeedr and click the [Update Products and Settings] button.
  13. Now navigate to a product which you know also has a coupon from the same merchant. Here's how my display looks when viewing a product from 123Refills.:

Enjoy,

Eric
  #30  
Old June 21st, 2011, 04:09 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by julioz View Post
How do you "Add your coupons to that category" step 2.
This is exactly the same as adding any products to a category. Just do a search for your coupons, save the search and add them to the category.
  #31  
Old June 21st, 2011, 04:34 PM
julioz julioz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Default

I did a lot of searches and all of them showed me coupons without images. In your page http://www.gourmetfoodspro.com/ you have your coupon with images. did you find all that coupons with images or did you get the link directly from commission Junction without using the search. How did you did this?. Thanks
  #32  
Old June 21st, 2011, 09:00 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by julioz View Post
I did a lot of searches and all of them showed me coupons without images. In your page http://www.gourmetfoodspro.com/ you have your coupon with images. did you find all that coupons with images or did you get the link directly from commission Junction without using the search. How did you did this?. Thanks
More coupons, unfortunately, do not have images.
  #33  
Old October 11th, 2011, 09:01 PM
osservices osservices is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 20
Default Code for displaying coupons

Hi Eric,

The code you add in the "Adding Coupons" video tutorial for displaying the coupon in the product details page is different than the shortcode shown in this tutorial. Which one should we use? What is the difference?

Thanks.
  #34  
Old October 11th, 2011, 09:14 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by osservices View Post
Hi Eric,

The code you add in the "Adding Coupons" video tutorial for displaying the coupon in the product details page is different than the shortcode shown in this tutorial. Which one should we use? What is the difference?

Thanks.
Hi

They are pretty much the same because you can reference a shortcode using PHP. For example, see the php at the bottom of this page: http://www.datafeedr.com/docs/item/185

Eric
  #35  
Old October 12th, 2011, 07:59 PM
osservices osservices is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks for the ultrafast reply

Interestingly, using the php line shown in the video displays the coupons, but using the shortcode does not.

I've changed my settings to the php line (no shortcode) and all coupons are displaying fine.
  #36  
Old October 21st, 2011, 02:46 AM
josemarr77 josemarr77 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25
Default

this is awesome!!! man! Step 2 in this thread "2 Add your coupons to that category." wwwhere do I get the coupons!?!
  #37  
Old October 21st, 2011, 02:51 AM
josemarr77 josemarr77 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 25
Default

Ok i might have answered my own question I went to my merchants and added merchants that said coupons lol DUH! sry
  #38  
Old March 13th, 2012, 11:18 PM
lesljr lesljr is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 80
Default

works like a charm. any chance of getting GAN coupons?
  #39  
Old March 13th, 2012, 11:23 PM
lesljr lesljr is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 80
Default

what do we do about those that aren't using the expired date?
  #40  
Old March 14th, 2012, 07:54 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesljr View Post
what do we do about those that aren't using the expired date?
You can remove the expiration date altogether or it will appear blank on your site.

Or you can use PHP conditionals with the variables I listed here: http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/show...8567#post28567
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.