Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Questions
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 27th, 2012, 02:40 AM
1800HART 1800HART is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 487
Default Merchant Logo Product Display When No Products

I don't know if this is a problem with me or datafeedr .....

Here's my code for the Merchant Logos in the sidebar.
Code:
<?php echo dfr_get_merchant_logos(); ?>
If you go to any of my sites ... e.g. this one http://software.HARTmarket.com ... in the sidebar there are images of merchant logos ... If I pick one ... TheNerds.net and click on it, the link goes to http://software.hartmarket.com/?merchant_id=1378 which is good, and only products in the store from TheNerds.net are displayed in the center content column.

But - if I take another vendor shown in the sidebar .. Farm & Home Supply Center .. which links to http://software.hartmarket.com/?merchant_id=1291 .... I get no products displayed and there is a message "There are no products in the store.".

>> I'm thinking that if merchant logos exist in the store there should be products in the store from that merchant! At minumum, if the merchant logos were downloaded in the store and displayed in the sidebar - at least ONE TIME AGO since I set up this store and/or the automated product feed download has been updated since going online that at least one product from that merchant MUST have existed in the store!

So - if it's not there, either the product has been removed from the store or maybe (not in this case) but it's possible I might have gone into the Factory Store and reshuffled categories or maybe even defined the keywords better so perhaps (maybe in this case) farm products wouldn't appear in my software store.

-- Anyway - if no products exist in the store, it would be ideal if the merchant logo didn't appear in the sidebar. Eric - is there some fancy schmancy PHP coding that can help omit the zero products in store search and merchant logos from appearing in the store?

Thanks.
HART
__________________
| Shop @ HART Markets | Twitter |
  #2  
Old June 27th, 2012, 08:57 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

My query from this page http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6828 was ignoring products in hidden categories. I've updated the query on that page.

Just update your functions.php file and then click the [Update Settings Only] button.

Eric
  #3  
Old June 27th, 2012, 12:11 PM
1800HART 1800HART is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric View Post
Hi

My query from this page http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6828 was ignoring products in hidden categories. I've updated the query on that page.

Just update your functions.php file and then click the [Update Settings Only] button.

Eric
Thanks Eric!

Your modification (WHERE state=1) reduced the merchant logo just on that store from 57 merchants in the sidebar, to 23 ... so, I'm guessing that did the trick!
__________________
| Shop @ HART Markets | Twitter |
  #4  
Old June 27th, 2012, 12:13 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1800HART View Post
Your modification (WHERE state=1) reduced the merchant logo just on that store from 57 merchants in the sidebar, to 23 ... so, I'm guessing that did the trick!
That's right. You have a lot of products (over 4,000) in a hidden category.
  #5  
Old June 27th, 2012, 12:33 PM
1800HART 1800HART is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric View Post
That's right. You have a lot of products (over 4,000) in a hidden category.
...

I know! Although in my defense some stores have hidden categories with so few products in them, that won't even last to Halloween, if drip feeding only one product a day from that hidden category :P


thanks again/
HART
__________________
| Shop @ HART Markets | Twitter |
  #6  
Old June 27th, 2012, 11:54 PM
1800HART 1800HART is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 487
Default

Eric.

Rather than fit all the merchants in the sidebar (or, rather every sidebar pageview) .. I'm thinking of doing this - http://hartmarket.com/ ... in the center column on the store front.

Is there a way to get padding before/after top/bottom of each merchant logo so it looks more like a bunch of logos than one huge box image? In my functions.php I've just set the images to w100/h22 and just want to get a nice spread inside my blockquote there.
__________________
| Shop @ HART Markets | Twitter |
  #7  
Old June 28th, 2012, 07:21 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Sure, just use CSS to add some padding:

HTML:
HTML Code:
<div class="merchant_logos">
<a href="#"><img src="..." /></a>
<a href="#"><img src="..." /></a>
<a href="#"><img src="..." /></a>
</div>
CSS:
Code:
.merchant_logos a img { padding: 10px; }
Eric

OFF TOPIC: Your page took almost 2 minutes before any content appeared. It took about 44 seconds just for your server to respond to the request. You should contact your host about this:

  #8  
Old June 29th, 2012, 01:10 PM
1800HART 1800HART is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric View Post
Sure, just use CSS to add some padding:

HTML:
HTML Code:
<div class="merchant_logos">
<a href="#"><img src="..." /></a>
<a href="#"><img src="..." /></a>
<a href="#"><img src="..." /></a>
</div>
CSS:
Code:
.merchant_logos a img { padding: 10px; }
Eric

OFF TOPIC: Your page took almost 2 minutes before any content appeared. It took about 44 seconds just for your server to respond to the request. You should contact your host about this:

Going to try your solution now ...

BTW ... I've been mentioning this many times with my host but, finally showed them your comment yesterday and image and this is what they said (after doing a fsck and reboot) ...

Quote:
Greetings,

The load on the server is slightly over 8.00, which is not normal for an 8-core server. I went ahead and disabled analog statistics, and left webalizer enabled, as analog is often a strain on CPU and Disk I/O resources. After doing this, the load has lowered, and stability has increased. I noticed that often, the wp-cron settings for the market account are using the most CPU resources. You may want to verify that it is being used properly, and that Wordpress on that account is configured correctly. Please let us know if you have any further issues going forward. Thanks and have a good day.

I guess I should probably cut back on the automated video posting daily per store on tips or other related product stuff.

Since that comment, my sites still timed out from full RAM and CPU usage and especially during the overnight backups of the MySQL databases when my sites always time out... so, don't think it was an analog statistic issue that was such a strain .. I don't see it.
__________________
| Shop @ HART Markets | Twitter |
  #9  
Old June 29th, 2012, 01:44 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

WP Cron is notorious for causing extreme loads on servers. It runs very often. I have not found a solution to this issue though it's an issue I haven't dealt with in a long time (basically since we stopped relying on WP Cron to Drip Products).

Eric
  #10  
Old June 29th, 2012, 01:45 PM
1800HART 1800HART is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 487
Default

Worked!
http://www.diigo.com/item/image/1d8vg/6081?size=o

Have the code set as
Quote:
<div class="merchant_logos">
<?php echo dfr_get_merchant_logos(); ?>
</div>
and settings 2px padding, and images w104 x h28

THANKS Eric! D
__________________
| Shop @ HART Markets | Twitter |
  #11  
Old June 29th, 2012, 01:47 PM
1800HART 1800HART is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric View Post
Hi

WP Cron is notorious for causing extreme loads on servers. It runs very often. I have not found a solution to this issue though it's an issue I haven't dealt with in a long time (basically since we stopped relying on WP Cron to Drip Products).

Eric

I still plan to review the themes next week, but now I'll just turn off all crons on the sites (non-datafeedr stuff that is) and see if it makes a difference until then ... but - doesn't the datafeedr drip feed count as a wp cron action?
__________________
| Shop @ HART Markets | Twitter |
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display coupons on a product details page from same merchant as the product Eric Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 73 December 9th, 2014 11:06 PM
Display merchant comparison on a single product jonoweb Questions 4 June 25th, 2012 01:38 PM
Is there any way to display product ratings (*****) in Categories and Product detail? sandeep821 Questions 3 April 25th, 2012 10:25 AM
Merchant Logo/Brand Logo kaje Questions 1 April 21st, 2012 08:08 AM
How do I display a merchant logo? drobertsbiz Questions 11 January 23rd, 2011 09:42 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.