Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Tips, Tricks & Tutorials
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 9th, 2011, 03:54 PM
digitalcow digitalcow is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 494
Default Search box code

Eric,

Where can I find the code used by the search box? I would like to be able to place the search box on my page in an unwidgeted place

thanks
  #2  
Old May 9th, 2011, 07:31 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Here's how: http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/show...dget#post19476
  #3  
Old May 10th, 2011, 02:57 AM
digitalcow digitalcow is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 494
Default

thanks Eric, that's perfect. Two minor sub questions...

1) How do I increase the size of the search box? I would like the text area to be a bit wider
2) Not matter where I put the search box on my page, be it header, widget etc the search returns no products.
  #4  
Old May 10th, 2011, 08:37 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

1. You can increase the size by modifying the CSS
Code:
.store_search_form input {width: 300px;}
.store_search_form input[type=submit] {width: auto;}
2. What code do you have in your search widget?

Eric
  #5  
Old May 10th, 2011, 05:47 PM
digitalcow digitalcow is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 494
Default

Eric, which bit of the css? I put the above in the custom css for the search box widget and nothing seems to have changed.
  #6  
Old May 10th, 2011, 07:03 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

That's not where the CSS code goes. You need to add that CSS code to here: The Factory > Your Store > Store menu > Custom CSS

Eric
  #7  
Old May 11th, 2011, 11:00 AM
digitalcow digitalcow is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 494
Default

ok, popped the code in that box but still the same size search box
  #8  
Old May 11th, 2011, 11:08 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Can you please share your store's URL?
  #9  
Old May 13th, 2011, 01:50 PM
digitalcow digitalcow is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 494
Default

Eric, the store is http://styleconsole.com
  #10  
Old May 13th, 2011, 01:57 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ccgmark View Post
ok, popped the code in that box but still the same size search box
This is because you changed the CSS class which wrapped around the search box. This will work:

Code:
.auto-style1 input {width: 300px;}
.auto-style1 input[type=submit] {width: auto;}
  #11  
Old May 13th, 2011, 02:15 PM
digitalcow digitalcow is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 494
Default

all sorted now. Thanks
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Code cyberil Questions 1 February 2nd, 2011 10:36 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.