Datafeedr Support Forums  

Go Back   Datafeedr Support Forums > Current Version (V3) Forum > Questions
Home Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Important - The support forums are now in "read-only" mode as we transition to an alternative help desk solution. Feel free to contact us here with any of your questions or search the forums for an existing solution.
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 1st, 2015, 03:01 PM
yankeestonk yankeestonk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 605
Default "Visit Category"

This is a tricky one. Is there a way to add a "visit category" button to results, much like a buy it or details button.

The purpose of the button would be if you were on a product that wasn't quite what you were looking for, and this button would take you to the category page of all the similar products.....or back to that area if you came from there.

What it would be good for say if you clicked on a Featured Product from the homepage. You go to the detail page but it's not quite right. A button that says "visit category" would bring you to the category without having to figure out which category it was. (without looking at breadcrumbs etc.)

Is it possible? If so I'd want to add to storefront page, category pages and detail page.

Thanks,
Ken

http://saveonogolf.net
  #2  
Old February 2nd, 2015, 09:17 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

That's covered here: http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/show...2666#post22666

Eric
  #3  
Old February 2nd, 2015, 09:54 AM
yankeestonk yankeestonk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 605
Default

Is that what I'm trying to do? I'm looking for a button to go back to the category from all results. (product/category/search)

Stefan was saying it may not be possible from certain areas but it would be addressed in future release. That was in 2011. So I don't know if Datafeedr supports it or not now, but I don't think that's exactly what I'm looking to do anyway. Am I wrong?
  #4  
Old February 2nd, 2015, 10:00 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

If you want a button to appear right next to your product 'buy' and 'details' button, then yes, that is what you need.

Adding that code to your Product List modules will do the trick:

HTML Code:
<?php $category = $s->category_for_product($product); ?>
<a class="dfbutton dfgreen dfmedium dfrounded" href="[category.link]">[category.name]</a>
  #5  
Old February 2nd, 2015, 11:29 AM
yankeestonk yankeestonk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 605
Default

This is the code for my storefront page. Can you put the code in the right place for me?

<!-- Product List -->
<ul class="products grid">
<div class="pl">
[product.each]
<div class="t1 col3">
<div class="bdr">
<h2><a href="[product.link]" title="[product.name]">[product.name]</a></h2>
<div class="thmb"><a href="[product.link]" title="[product.name]">[product.thumbnail tag='1']</a></div>


<?php if ($product->saleprice > 0 && $product->saleprice < $product->price) { ?>
<div class="prc">
<small>
<span style="text-decoration: line-through;">[product.currency mode='sign'][product.price]</span>
<span style="font-weight: bold; color:red;">[product.currency mode='sign'][product.saleprice]</span>
</small>
</div>
<?php } else { ?>
<div class="prc">
<small>
[product.currency mode='sign'][product.price]
</small>
</div>
<?php } ?>
<p class="desc">[product.description]</p>
<div class="logo">[product.merchant_logo]</div>
<div class="btns">
<?php if ( $product->compset_status > 0 ) : ?>
<a href="[product.link]" class="dfbutton dforange dfmedium dfrounded" title="Find the best price for [product.name]">Compare Prices</a>
<?php else : ?>
<a href="[product.link]" class="dfbutton dfgreen dfmedium dfrounded" title="View details of [product.name]">Details</a>
<a href="[product.url]" class="dfbutton dforange dfmedium dfrounded" title="View details of [product.name]" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">Buy Now</a>
<?php endif; ?>
</div>
<div class="clearingdiv"> </div>
</div>
</div>
[/product.each]
<div class="clearingdiv"> </div>
</div>
</ul>
<!-- /Product List -->
  #6  
Old February 2nd, 2015, 11:38 AM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Hi

It's nearly identical to the change I made here: http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/show...2933#post52933

Eric
  #7  
Old February 2nd, 2015, 12:27 PM
yankeestonk yankeestonk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 605
Default

is this right?

<p class="desc">[product.description]</p>
<div class="logo">[product.merchant_logo]</div>
<div class="btns">
<?php if ( $product->compset_status > 0 ) : ?>
<a href="[product.link]" class="dfbutton dforange dfmedium dfrounded" title="Find the best price for [product.name]">Compare Prices</a>
<?php else : ?>
<a href="[product.link]" class="dfbutton dfgreen dfmedium dfrounded" title="View details of [product.name]">Details</a>
<a href="[product.url]" class="dfbutton dforange dfmedium dfrounded" title="View details of [product.name]" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">Buy Now</a>
<?php endif; ?>
<?php $category = $s->category_for_product($product); ?>
<a class="dfbutton dfgreen dfmedium dfrounded" href="[category.link]">[category.name]</a>

</div>
<div class="clearingdiv"> </div>
  #8  
Old February 2nd, 2015, 12:30 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Yes, that looks good!
  #9  
Old February 2nd, 2015, 01:14 PM
yankeestonk yankeestonk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 605
Default

Done, it worked! Thanks
Here's what it does. Do you think it's helpful?

http://saveongolf.net/store/category/hot-list-clubs/
  #10  
Old February 2nd, 2015, 01:18 PM
Eric's Avatar
Eric Eric is offline
Datafeedr Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 16,902
Default

Yeah, that could be useful.
  #11  
Old February 2nd, 2015, 01:37 PM
yankeestonk yankeestonk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 605
Default

yeah sure Eric!...you just don't want me asking you how to remove it! ;0)

Thanks.
  #12  
Old February 3rd, 2015, 10:45 PM
brentwilliamz brentwilliamz is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 38
Default

Dude, don't let it go to your head, but... you seem to be the only affiliate in DFR Forums right now who knows what to do for The Customer!

And sales.

Once again, the solution you've asked for, in this thread, is driven by what the Internet customer wants. That little silver Category button below the other 2 is perfect; there if they want it, in the background if they don't.

Well done, Salesperson Extraordinaire.
  #13  
Old February 4th, 2015, 06:48 AM
yankeestonk yankeestonk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 605
Default

Wow, that was nice to read! Thanks! Slowly going broke just got a little more palatable!
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cant find the "genre" option when i use "add products to this category" matzii Questions 15 January 1st, 2014 07:09 PM
"Price Filter" shows only Front Page "Product selection" items joe2bron Questions 1 March 15th, 2012 03:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.