Datafeedr Support Forums

Datafeedr Support Forums (http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/index.php)
-   Questions (http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=67)
-   -   Store RSS Feed (http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8952)

nzcid April 11th, 2013 07:21 PM

Store RSS Feed
 
Hey Guys

Is it possible to obtain a store RSS feed. What I mean here is that the feed will show random products from my store as a RSS feed.

I use a social networking platform called Homepagepays which I can brand with my business and they just added smart blogging. As I can give away a free version of this platform, all these free users who join via my link see my branding including my blog.

So I can promote whatever in my blog and all my free users will see what I am promoting.

Currently I added my feed from the blog running the shop but its only showing my normal pages / posts, nothing from the shop / store.

Any way I can do this via Datafeedr?

Eric April 11th, 2013 07:25 PM

Hi,

There's no way to do this using just Datafeedr. However, you could do it using the Drip feature. Drip your products to a specific category and then provide an RSS feed just to that category of your blog.

Eric

nzcid April 11th, 2013 07:39 PM

Can u explain a little more Eric to help me understand clearer.

Here is what I think you are saying.

Create a specific category on my blog and then drip products to that category from the factory.

But how do I provide a RSS feed just to that category?

Eric April 11th, 2013 07:40 PM

Hi,

Yes, you understand correctly.

Here's how to set up an RSS feed for a specific category in your blog: http://codex.wordpress.org/WordPress...ories_and_Tags

Eric

nzcid April 11th, 2013 07:44 PM

Reading what you said over again.

If I create a hidden category in the factory (dont want this to show on the site) and drip products to it from whatever categories.

Then just create a RSS feed to that cateogry somehow and use that to get the feed.

Think I am on the right track :)

Eric April 11th, 2013 07:44 PM

You got it! :)

nzcid April 11th, 2013 08:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eric (Post 41383)
You got it! :)

:) How do I create an RSS Feed to that one cateogry though?

I used this link with store being the named category http://www.chinawholesalectronics.com/store

Currently the message I get is "RSS channel is empty or unreadable" which may because there is no products in that category.

Anyway to get it to dump some products straight away in there so I can test the link?

Eric April 11th, 2013 08:14 PM

Hi,

You can't have a category named "store". That will conflict with your store's URL.

You should name your category (and its slug) to something other than "store".

Eric

nzcid April 11th, 2013 08:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eric (Post 41386)
Hi,

You can't have a category named "store". That will conflict with your store's URL.

You should name your category (and its slug) to something other than "store".

Eric

Okay renamed to feed..

Any tips to actually make it an RSS Feed though..

Eric April 11th, 2013 08:19 PM

Can you provide the link to your new category?

nzcid April 11th, 2013 08:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eric (Post 41390)
Can you provide the link to your new category?

http://www.chinawholesalectronics.com/hppfeed

When I check that page on my site it comes up with 404 error.

I have updated the site...but thats not important anyways as no one should find it on the site.

Just want to convert that link into an RSS feed.

Eric April 11th, 2013 08:29 PM

Hi,

This is your category's URL: http://www.chinawholesalectronics.com/category/hppfeed/

This is your category's RSS URL: http://www.chinawholesalectronics.co.../hppfeed/feed/

Eric

nzcid April 11th, 2013 08:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eric (Post 41392)
Hi,

This is your category's URL: http://www.chinawholesalectronics.com/category/hppfeed/

This is your category's RSS URL: http://www.chinawholesalectronics.co.../hppfeed/feed/

Eric

Kool thanks Eric. I set the drip feature up for the minuium time and I check a little later as to whether it has put products in it and go from there.

The link worked as I now get this message "Channel is empty"

It also has now acknowledged the feed.

You are a star Eric.

Many thanks.

Eric April 11th, 2013 08:43 PM

Hi,

You can also go here: WordPress Admin Area > Tools > Datafeedr > Drip > Drip Now to test that products are dripped to the correct category. Just click the [Go] button to insert 1 product.

Eric

nzcid April 11th, 2013 08:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eric (Post 41394)
Hi,

You can also go here: WordPress Admin Area > Tools > Datafeedr > Drip > Drip Now to test that products are dripped to the correct category. Just click the [Go] button to insert 1 product.

Eric

Tried that an I get this message when looking in the cateogry "Sorry, but there aren't any posts in the hppfeed category yet."

My drip settings are c=911487,712369,1086764,1015678,712372,1086745,110 0462,1086746,1086751,1086752,712367,712380,1086744 ,1030531

And

Move all posts to the following category

hppfeed

And it is enabled.

Cant see anything that I have done wrong.

Eric April 11th, 2013 08:55 PM

Are there any posts scheduled here: WordPress Admin Area > Posts

nzcid April 11th, 2013 09:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eric (Post 41397)
Are there any posts scheduled here: WordPress Admin Area > Posts

Yes - 1 post.

Eric April 11th, 2013 09:07 PM

It's already live: http://www.chinawholesalectronics.com/category/hppfeed/
And in your feed: http://www.chinawholesalectronics.co...y/hppfeed/feed

nzcid April 11th, 2013 09:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eric (Post 41399)

I told it to do two products, so one has appeared and another is scheduled for about 3pm NZ time.

The one product has been picked up but the feed link but it sends the person back to my site and that detail page is a real mess, when they should go direct to the merchants site.

The product detail view looks like this:

Code:

<div class="sp">
  <div class="lc">
    <div class="thmb">
      <a href="[product.url direct='0']" title="[product.name]" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">
        [product.image tag='1']
      </a>
    </div>
  </div>
  <div class="rc">
    <h2><a href="[product.url direct='0']" title="[product.name]" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">[product.name]</a></h2>
    <p class="desc">[product.description]</p>
    <div class="prc">[product.currency mode='sign'][product.price]</div>
    <div class="btns">
      <a href="[product.url]" class="dfbutton dforange dflarge" title="Buy this product" rel="nofollow">LEARN MORE!</a>
    </div>
  </div>
  <div class="clearingdiv"> </div>
</div>


Eric April 11th, 2013 09:21 PM

Hi,

Unfortunately, that's how the merchant formatted the product's description...

I thought you just wanted a link back to your own site... I'm not sure if it's possible to modify the output of the feed to display a link to the merchant's site instead of your site.

Eric


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.