Datafeedr Support Forums

Datafeedr Support Forums (http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/index.php)
-   Problems (http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=68)
-   -   Site Map cannot be submitted to Google (http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10895)

bradleyhebdon August 19th, 2014 09:54 PM

Site Map cannot be submitted to Google
 
I've been submitted the store sitemap every week or so to Google (Via the webmaster tools) but noticed of late that I cannot due to this error:

"We encountered an error while trying to access your Sitemap. Please ensure your Sitemap follows our guidelines and can be accessed at the location you provided and then resubmit."

I've tried about 50 times -- and my host plan is robust (I upgraded, so I know it's not a bandwidth issue).

I have about 47k products in the sitemap, and noticed there's a 50k limit (according to the factory sitemap info).

Do you have any suggestions to fix this problem? Should I break the sitemap into multiple ones, even though the maximum hasn't been reached?

I have no issues submitted sitemaps for my blog posts, etc.

Thanks,
Bradley

Eric August 20th, 2014 07:16 AM

Hi,

You can split your sitemap into multiple ones. That is outlined here: http://www.datafeedr.com/docs/item/259

Eric

bradleyhebdon August 20th, 2014 09:30 AM

Yeah, I saw that -- I'll give that a go.

I just wanted sure if I should do anything since I hadn't hit 50k products.

bradleyhebdon August 20th, 2014 10:40 AM

Followed all the instructions... changed the upper limit to 20k and still cannot submit any sitemaps for the store.

Any ideas?

bradleyhebdon August 20th, 2014 10:42 AM

if you go to view-source:http://www.vintageshopper.com/store/sitemap and look at the source, it's empty???

Eric August 20th, 2014 11:21 AM

Hi,

I would make sure your cache is cleared.

If that doesn't help, try changing the Sitemap path here The Factory > Your Store > Store menu > URL Settings from

store/sitemap%sn

to:

shop/sitemap%sn

Then click the [Update Products and Settings] button on your site.

After that, try to access your sitemap here:

http://www.vintageshopper.com/shop/sitemap1
http://www.vintageshopper.com/shop/sitemap2
http://www.vintageshopper.com/shop/sitemap3

Eric

bradleyhebdon August 20th, 2014 11:31 AM

Thanks for the reply.

What cache are you referring to when you say "make sure your cache is cleared?"

Eric August 20th, 2014 01:38 PM

Hi,

Any cache created by any plugin you might have installed. W3 Total Cache or another plugin like that.

Eric

bradleyhebdon August 20th, 2014 02:04 PM

Cleared the cache with W3 - the sitemap is empty -- I'll try the next step and rename to folder to "shop".

I just want to make sure this isn't going to break my store.

Eric August 20th, 2014 02:19 PM

It's not going to break anything. Just rename the "Sitemap" URL field. No other fields.

bradleyhebdon August 20th, 2014 03:40 PM

Did exactly as instructed...

and didn't work. The sitemaps are empty.

Any ideas?

Eric August 20th, 2014 05:39 PM

Hi

Can you PM me the following information:

BLOG LOGIN INFO with ADMINISTRATOR PERMISSIONS (Temporary login information preferred)
Admin URL:
Username:
Password:

FTP LOGIN INFORMATION (Temporary login information preferred)
Host:
Login:
Password:

Thanks,
Eric

bradleyhebdon August 20th, 2014 06:46 PM

Thanks Eric, I just sent my my login credentials to you.

Thanks for looking into this.

Eric August 20th, 2014 07:33 PM

Hi,

We're looking into this.

Eric

Eric August 21st, 2014 09:26 AM

Hi,

There was not enough memory (64M). We've temporarily increased the memory limit directly in the plugin code to 256M and reduced sitemap size to 5000 - it works now. You should add the new memory limit setting to their wp config. Here's how http://codex.wordpress.org/Editing_w...located_to_PHP

Eric

bradleyhebdon August 21st, 2014 10:01 AM

Thanks for looking into this, but unfortunately I still cannot submit the sitemap: http://www.vintageshopper.com/shop/sitemap to Google

Still get the following message:

We encountered an error while trying to access your Sitemap. Please ensure your Sitemap follows our guidelines and can be accessed at the location you provided and then resubmit.

Any ideas?

Eric August 21st, 2014 10:12 AM

Hi,

Did you increase your memory?

Eric

bradleyhebdon August 21st, 2014 09:30 PM

Yup, at 256MB

Still won't accept.

Google's error:
We encountered an error while trying to access your Sitemap. Please ensure your Sitemap follows our guidelines and can be accessed at the location you provided and then resubmit.

Eric August 22nd, 2014 12:58 AM

Hi,

What happens if you try to submit this page:
http://www.vintageshopper.com/shop/sitemap2

Eric

bradleyhebdon August 22nd, 2014 01:42 AM

Something very weird going on.. I submitted sitemap, sitemap2 all through sitemap 10 and got errors for each one.

I just tried again, (resubmitting) and it worked. Could it be a problem with google?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.