Datafeedr Support Forums

Datafeedr Support Forums (http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/index.php)
-   Feature Requests (http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=69)
-   -   Category Name should not be the same as Category Page Title Name (http://www.datafeedr.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10476)

bradleyhebdon April 10th, 2014 01:56 AM

Category Name should not be the same as Category Page Title Name
 
I've noticed a flaw in how labeling categories is setup.

There are two main uses for a category name:
1) category navigation
2) page title

Here's an example of category levels:

1. retro clothing
1.1 dresses
1.1.1 wedding

that works great for navigation.

However, as a page title, "Wedding" doesn't work because it's non description and is not in the context of a hierarchy.

For a title, I'd want "Retro Wedding Dresses"

My suggestion is that you add a page title field. That way you have more control - similarly to how you're allowing a user to enter the slug as a different label.

stefan April 10th, 2014 05:57 AM

A workaround is to test on category ID and then specify a unique title for that ID.

1. To find the ID of a category just click on a category name in the Factory and look in the URL. The category ID is the number following cat=.

2. Then go to The Factory > Your Store > VIEWS > CATEGORY PAGE > Default > View menu > View <head> Elements

3. Replace <title>[category.name] - Vintage Shopper</title> with the code below.

In example below a unique title has been specified for 3 categories with IDs 123, 456 and 789. The other categories follow the default. Adjust the code to your needs.

Code:

<?php if ($category->id==123){ ?>
          <title> xxxxxxxxx - Vintage Shopper</title>

<?php } elseif ($category->id==456) { ?>
          <title> yyyyyyyyy - Vintage Shopper</title>

<?php } elseif ($category->id==789) { ?>
          <title> zzzzzzzzz - Vintage Shopper</title>

<?php } else { ?>
          <title>[category.name] - Vintage Shopper</title>
<?php } ?>


bradleyhebdon April 10th, 2014 09:43 AM

Wow, that is a workaround -- not really a fix. If you have a hundred categories, NOT ideal.

Surely this issue has been brought up by other customers? Would you guys consider my solution to the problem please?

Thanks

Eric April 10th, 2014 10:46 AM

Thread moved to "Feature Request" forum.

stefan April 10th, 2014 10:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by bradleyhebdon (Post 48440)
Wow, that is a workaround -- not really a fix. If you have a hundred categories, NOT ideal.

The workaround is specifically when you need a different title than the default for a specific category like in the example you mentioned (Retro Wedding Dresses instead of Wedding).

You don't need to define titles for all category IDs.

The category ids you don't specify automatically get the default title - that is the title which is specified in the else clause.

Code:

...
else { ?>
          <title>[category.name] - Vintage Shopper</title>
<?php } ?>

Quote:

Originally Posted by bradleyhebdon (Post 48440)
Surely this issue has been brought up by other customers? Would you guys consider my solution to the problem please?

What's the difference with your solution: "add a page title field" versus the suggested workaround?

If you have a hundred categories, you would also have to enter 100 times a different title into a field if you want another title than the default.

About the same amount of work just another implementation.

bradleyhebdon April 10th, 2014 03:32 PM

The difference with my solution is focusing on data input where it should be, not via code.

That's why interfaces are designed and built.

Also, in your solution you have to go up and look up the id for each category. if you simply have that field in the UI for category properties -- dead simple.

Eric April 10th, 2014 03:37 PM

Hi,

You may be more interested in our WooCommerce solution: http://www.datafeedr.com/wc

Eric

bradleyhebdon April 11th, 2014 01:27 AM

Yeah, I've been told that already.

The only problem is (and correct me if I'm wrong) - don't you need a separate website to run a woocommerce theme?

Eric April 11th, 2014 06:06 AM

Hi

No, WooCommerce can run on any installation of WordPress.

If your current theme is not WooCommerce compatible the following link can help with that:

http://77webstudio.com/make-wordpres...ce-compatible/

Eric


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.